We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

US Triple Crown

The US Triple Crown is a series of races held all over the United States of America for three-year-old horses run during May and June which are made up of the Kentucky Derby, Preakness Stakes and Belmont Stakes.

Dating back to the late 1800s the US Triple Crown has unearthed some excellent thoroughbreds down the years and only 11 horses have managed to win all three races and win the coveted title.

The first came in 1919 when the H. Guy Bedwell-trained Sir Barton rounded off the hat-trick of wins at Belmont Park.  There were several winners of the Triple Crown in the 1930s and 1940s, but in recent times the feat has been tougher and tougher to achieve and the last winner came back in 1978 when Laz Barrera's Affirmed won all three Grade One races.

All three of the races gain huge attendance figures and they generally gain more spectators than the legendary Breeders' Cup that takes place at the end of the season.

The Kentucky Derby kicks off the Triple Crown on the first Saturday in May from Churchill Downs and then two weeks later the Preakness Stakes takes centre stage at Pimlico, before the Belmont Stakes from Belmont Park comes three weeks after the Preakness.

So, it's clear to see that it is not an easy accolade to win and only the toughest thoroughbreds can withstand three top quality races in the space of six weeks.

US Triple Crown Races

Winners of US Triple Crown

  • 1919 - Sir Barton
  • 1930 - Gallant Fox
  • 1935 - Omaha
  • 1937 - War Admiral
  • 1941 - Whirlaway
  • 1943 - Count Fleet
  • 1946 - Assault
  • 1948 - Citation
  • 1973 - Secretariat
  • 1977 - Seattle Slew
  • 1978 - Affirmed