We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It


The Yorkshire Oaks is a Group One race run at York over one mile, four furlongs and is open to mares and fillies aged three years and older.

Held on day three of York's Ebor festival the Yorkshire Oaks takes centre stage on ladies day as some of the best fillies and mares in training battle it out on the Knavesmire.

Established in 1849, the Yorkshire Oaks allows the three-year-old Classic contingent the chance to take on their older adversaries and only a select few have managed to win the Oaks at Epsom and then come to York and struck gold in the Yorkshire Oaks.

The most recent to have managed the Epsom and York double was the Aidan O'Brien-trained Alexandrova, who scorched the turf on the Knavesmire when winning by three-and-a-half lengths, when sent off a 4/9 favourite.

Since its inauguration it's been a rarity to see back-to-back winners of the Yorkshire Oaks and it wasn't until Only Royale managed it in 1993 and 1994 had that feat been achieved.� However, it wasn't long to wait for the second dual winner as the Sir Michael Stoute-trained Islington won the race in 2002 and 2003.

Stoute has become a trainer affiliated with the Yorkshire Oaks and the master trainer has bagged the event a staggering nine times in an illustrious career.

Recent Winners of Yorkshire Oaks

  • 2000 - Petrushka
  • 2001 - Super Tassa
  • 2002 - Islington
  • 2003 - Islington
  • 2004 - Quiff
  • 2005 - Punctilious
  • 2006 - Alexandrova
  • 2007 - Peeping Fawn
  • 2008 - Lush Lashes
  • 2009 - Dar Re Mi
  • 2010 - Midday
  • 2011 - Blue Bunting
  • 2012 - Shareta
  • 2013 - The Fugue
  • 2014 - Tapestry