We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Yorkshire Cup History

The Yorkshire Cup is a Group Two race run at York's Dante meeting over one mile, six furlongs for horses aged four years or older.

Established in 1927, this contest is one of the leading staying races of the season and it is often used as a springboard to the Ascot Gold Cup at the Royal meeting and trainers often target the Yorkshire Cup to use it as a trial.

Only one horse has managed to win back-to-back renewals of the race with Sir Henry Cecil's Ardross managing the feat in 1981 and 1982, but there have been some classy horses that have bagged victory on the Knavesmire before going on to bigger and better things.

2000 St Leger winner Millenary bagged another big race for trainer John Dunlop when he won the 2004 Yorkshire Cup, whilst further back in history Saeed Bin Suroor's Kayf Tara was victorious in the 2000 renewal and then went on to Royal Ascot to lift the Ascot Gold Cup the same year and notch his second victory in the Berkshire contest.

Lester Piggott rode Cecil's Ardross to victory both times and the legendary jockey is the most successful rider in the race's history having amassed eight victories during his illustrious career, with no recent jockey getting close to that mark.

Frankie Dettori has been the most successful pilot in recent times and has secured four wins in the race for Godolphin, but he has a long way to catch up the mighty Piggott.

Recent Winners of Yorkshire Cup

  • 2000 - Kayf Tara
  • 2001 - Marienbard
  • 2002 - Zindabad
  • 2003 - Mamool
  • 2004 - Millenary
  • 2005 - Franklins Gardens
  • 2006 - Percussionist
  • 2007 - Sergeant Cecil
  • 2008 - Geordieland
  • 2009 - Ask
  • 2010 - Manifest
  • 2011 - Duncan
  • 2012 - Red Cadeaux
  • 2013 - Glen's Diamond
  • 2014 - Gospel Choir