We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Worcester Novices' Chase History

The Worcester Novices' Chase is a Grade Two race run at Newbury over three miles for horses aged four years or older.

Initially held at Worcester, the race was transferred to Newbury in 2000 where it became a part of the three-day Hennessy Gold Cup meeting and this contest has attracted some future stars of the chasing world.

One of the most prestigious winners of this crown came in the early 1990's as the David Nicholson-trained Barton Bank was sent off an 8/13 favourite for the 1992 contest and duly hacked up by 30 lengths.  It would prove to be the catalyst to a stellar career as he went on to become a dual Charlie Hall Chase winner and grabbed his biggest crown in 1993 as he lifted the King George VI Chase crown at Kempton Park.

Since then one man has dominated this race and ever since a youthful Paul Nicholls saddled See More Indians to success in 1993, he has had a terrific affiliation with this contest.  He saddled six more winners of this contest up until 2010 with some top class jumping recruits doing the business for the Ditcheat handler.

Shotgun Willy was a classy winner of the 2000 renewal, whilst he retained his title a year later with Valley Henry.  More recently, Nicholls has trained Michel Le Bon to victory in the 2009 renewal before Aiteen Thirtythree stormed to an 18-length success in 2010 when odds-on favourite Tell Massini suffered a fatal fall in the race.

Recent Winners of GPG Novices' Chase

  • 2000 - Shotgun Willy
  • 2001 - Valley Henry
  • 2002 - Lucky Bay
  • 2003 - Ballycassidy
  • 2004 - Cornish Rebel
  • 2005 - Darkness
  • 2006 - Boychuk
  • 2007 - Joe Lively
  • 2008 - Gone To Lunch
  • 2009 - Michel Le Bon
  • 2010 - Aiteen Thirtythree
  • 2011 - Grands Crus
  • 2012 - Harry Topper
  • 2013 - Just A Par