We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Wolferton Handicap History

The Wolferton Rated Stakes Handicap is a Listed race run at Royal Ascot over one mile, two furlongs for horses aged four years or older.

Taking place on the fourth day of the five-day meeting, this contest allows the horses that drop just below Group level to try and bag a Royal victory and it is fiercely competitive with double-figured fields lining up for what is another tricky conundrum for punters in the horse racing calendar.

Attracting the older horses in training this race can sometimes be used as a springboard to Group races, but a lot of the competitors could well be gradually dropping down the ratings and are dropped into handicap company to try and notch up a victory and grab the coveted prize.

Sir Michael Stoute has a decent record in the race and the legendary trainer has saddled two winners in the last decade as he first sent out Imperial Stride to victory in the 2005 renewal, before Perfect Stride regained the title for him in the 2009 running, as he fended off the well-fancied Godolphin runner Moonquake.

Michael Jarvis' Rainbow Peak was sent off a short-priced favourite for the 2010 renewal and the 13/8 shot disappoint favourite backers as he stormed to an impressive victory over Kings Gambit and that pair both went on to bigger and better things to highlight this race's ability to unearth a star.

Other notable winners in the last few renewals include Mick Channon's Championship Point who bagged the prize in 2007 and John Gosden's Beachfire who was a gallant winner in 2011.

Recent Winners of the Wolferton Handicap

  • 2002 - Ulundi
  • 2003 - In Time's Eyes
  • 2004 - Red Fort
  • 2005 - Imperial Stride
  • 2006 - I'm So Lucky
  • 2007 - Championship Point
  • 2008 - Supaseus
  • 2009 - Perfect Stride
  • 2010 - Rainbow Peak
  • 2011 - Beachfire
  • 2012 - Gatewood
  • 2013 - Forgotten Voice
  • 2014 - Contributer