We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Wokingham Stakes - 21st June, 2014

Kevin Ryan's York Glory stormed to glory in the Wokingham Stakes last year and the classy sprinter will look to emulate that performance on the final day of Royal Ascot, but the speedy six-year-old will have a whole host of leading challengers for the 6f crown as a field of 31 runners do battle in a real punting head-scratcher.

Ninjago is a progressive sprinter for Richard Hannon and he put up a decent effort when third in a competitive Newmarket event last time out and he could be potentially well handicapped to land a blow, whilst Clive Cox's Seeking Magic ran a stormer when second in the Epsom Dash and now stepping up in distance will attempt to bag glory.

Richard Fahey's Baccarat has been a model of consistency this season having bagged a couple of second place finishes, but he is entitled to be on the vicinity, with the Roger Varian-trained Rocky Ground aiming to build on a Listed win last time, however, he will need to carry a penalty for that success.

Of the others, Hamza is a real speedball and will be attempting to carry top weight to success, whilst the likes of Absolutely So and Alben Star add more depth to what is a devilishly difficult betting heat for punters to try and work out on Saturday afternoon.

Latest Betting for 2014 Wokingham Stakes

10/1 Ninjago

10/1 Rocky Ground

11/1 Seeking Magic

11/1 Absolutely So

14/1 Baccarat

14/1 York Glory

16/1 Alben Star

16/1 Professor

20/1 Glen Moss

20/1 Hoof It

20/1 Rivellino

20/1 Dandy Boy

20/1 Lancelot Du Lac

20/1 Saayerr

25/1 BAR

Open an account with Paddy Power where you can get £250 worth of Free Bets.

Wokingham Stakes History

The Wokingham Stakes is a handicap race run at Royal Ascot over six furlongs for horses aged three years older.

Held on the final day of the five-day Royal extravaganza, the Wokingham is a hotly-contested race with huge fields going to post looking to bag a coveted victory and it is one of the hardest conundrums of the entire week with punters usually have a difficult task to pick the winner.

Established in 1818 it is one of the oldest races on the horse racing calendar and incidentally the race was won by a horse named Wokingham in 1981 and again in 1982 and he was one of four dual winners of the race, which shows how highly competitive the race can be.

In 2003, there was a rare event as there was a dead-heat between Fayr Jag and Ratio, whilst there was a classy winner in James Fanshawe's Deacon Blues in 2011, as he stormed to success before going on to bigger and better things.

After his tremendous win in the Wokingham Stakes, he returned to the Berkshire track at the end of the 2011 campaign to bag the British Champions Sprint Stakes on British Champions Day to highlight that this contest can occasionally unearth Group winners, who go on to dominate the sprinting division.

Johnny Murtagh is a man who has a terrific recent record in the Wokingham Stakes and as well as riding Deacon Blues to victory, he also claimed glory in 2010 bagging success aboard Jeremy Noseda's Laddies Poker Two.

Recent Winners of Wokingham Stakes

  • 2000 - Harmonic Way
  • 2001 - Nice One Clare
  • 2002 - Capricho
  • 2003 - Fayr Hag/Ratio
  • 2004 - Lafi
  • 2005 - Iffraaj
  • 2006 - Baltic King
  • 2007 - Dark Missile
  • 2008 - Big Timer
  • 2009 - High Standing
  • 2010 - Laddies Poker Two
  • 2011 - Deacon Blues
  • 2012 - Dandy Boy