We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Triumph Hurdle History

The Triumph Hurdle is a Grade One race run on day four of the Cheltenham Festival over two miles, one furlong and is open to horses aged four years old.

Established in 1939, the Triumph Hurdle was moved to Cheltenham from Hurst Park in 1965 and became a part of the festival in 1968.  It is the leading national hunt contest that is only open to juveniles and it is now the curtain-raiser to the fourth and final day of the Cheltenham Festival.

Usually a ulta-competitive race with bumper fields going to post, trainers often use the Triumph Hurdle as a stepping stone for championships races and there have been four winners of the Triumph who have gone on to win the Champion Hurdle later on in their career.

Clair Soleil was the first to achieve the feat by winning the 1953 Triumph and bagging Champion Hurdle glory in 1955, whilst the legendary Persian War won the 1967 Triumph before winning a hat-trick of Champion Hurdle titles in 1968, 1969 and 1970.

Kribensis won the 1988 renewal before going on to win the 1990 Champion Hurdle for Sir Michael Stoute, whilst the Alan King-trained Katchit was the most recent winning the 2007 Triumph and winning the Champion Hurdle a year later.

Nicky Henderson has a terrific recent record in the race as he amassed five victories in the race with his first coming in 1985 with First Bout and his fifth in 2010 with Soldatino.

2015 Triumph Hurdle Runners and Form

Attracting some of the leading four-year-olds we are sure to learn a lot as the 2012/2013 season progresses and we will be keeping on top of all form-related issues for the 2013 Triumph.  We will also be giving you a detailed list of runners on the day of the race, so you can choose your winner.

Recent Winners of Triumph Hurdle

  • 2000 - Snow Drop
  • 2001 - No Race
  • 2002 - Scolardy
  • 2003 - Spectroscope
  • 2004 - Made in Japan
  • 2005 - Penzance
  • 2006 - Detroit City
  • 2007 - Katchit
  • 2008 - Celestial Halo
  • 2009 - Zaynar
  • 2010 - Soldatino
  • 2011 - Zarkandar
  • 2012 - Countrywide Flame
  • 2013 - Our Conor
  • 2014 - Tiger Roll