Tattersalls Gold Cup - 25th May, 2014

Aidan O'Brien has saddled three of the last four winners of the Tattersalls Gold Cup and the Ballydoyle supremo will unleash another top class prospect for Sunday's renewal of the Group One event, which is one of the feature events of Irish 1000 Guineas day and Magician will attempt to bag the coveted prize for the legendary handler.

A winner of the Irish 2000 Guineas last season, the four-year-old son of Galileo went on to land the Breeders' Cup Turf with aplomb and kicked off this season with a win in the Mooresbridge Stakes and will now be aiming for more top class success in what is a fascinating renewal.

Lady Cecil's Noble Mission has been a revelation this season as having landed the Gordon Richards Stakes with a terrific front-running performance, the Warren Place inmate then landed the Huxley Stakes at Chester, and whilst he will need a career best to land this prize he heads to the Curragh in superb form and will be a lively player.

Jim Bolger's Parish Hall was just outbattled by Magician when a neck second in the aforementioned Mooresbridge Stakes and he will be locking horns with that raider again, but it's tough to see him reversing the form, whilst Dermot Weld's Along Came Casey is another interesting runner, but she will need a career best if she is to land this event.

Hall Of Mirrors will be the second string for the O'Brien team and whilst he is a decent performer in his own right he could be used for pacemaking duties in what could be a race battled out by the front pairing in the betting on Sunday afternoon.

Latest Betting for Tattersalls Gold Cup

4/6 Magician

2/1 Noble Mission

12/1 Along Came Casey

14/1 Parish Hall

25/1 Hall Of Mirrors

50/1 Einsteins Folly

66/1 Euphrasia

100/1 Cardinal Palace

Open an account with Paddy Power where you can get 250 worth of Free Bets.

Tattersalls Gold Cup History

The Tattersalls Gold Cup is a Group One race run at the Curragh over one mile, two furlongs and 110 yards for horses aged four years or older.

Established in 1962, this race has grown in stature through the years and in 1999 was handed top class status and is now one of the highlights of the Irish flat calendar and often attracts a star-studded field.

It often will see runners who have contested in the Classics the previous season, an in particular the Epsom Derby and Irish Derby head back to the track and try and grab another coveted victory and down the years some star performers have secured victory in this race.

Opera House and Daylami are just a brace of eyecatchers on the roll of honour for the 1990s, but since the race has been somewhat dominated by Aidan O'Brien, as he has racked up the wins in the race.

The Ballydoyle supremo trained his first winner in 2003, as Black Sam Bellamy grabbed success, but O'Brien has saddled the likes of Irish Derby winner Fame And Glory and former Australian superstar So You Think to success to emphasise this race's ability to attract some of the leading thoroughbreds in the UK & Ireland.

Other names that star are the mighty Montjeu, who powered to victory in 2000, whilst Saeed Bin Suroor's Fantastic Light was a quality winner of the race in 2001 for the Godolphin operation to cement this race's place as a top class event.

Recent Winners of Tattersalls Gold Cup

  • 2000 - Montjeu
  • 2001 - Fantastic Light
  • 2002 - Rebelline
  • 2003 - Black Sam Bellamy
  • 2004 - Powersourt
  • 2005 - Grey Swallow
  • 2006 - Hurricane Run
  • 2007 - Notnowcato
  • 2008 - Duke Of Marmalade
  • 2009 - Casual Conquest
  • 2010 - Fame And Glory
  • 2011 - So You Think
  • 2012 - So You Think
  • 2013 - Al Kazeem

Todays Race Odds

1:00 | 1:30 | 2:05 | 2:40 | 3:15 | 3:50 | 4:20
1:20 | 1:55 | 2:30 | 3:05 | 3:40 | 4:10
1:10 | 1:45 | 2:20 | 2:55 | 3:30 | 4:00

We are committed to supporting Responsible Gambling Initiatives - For additional information visit : GamCare | Gamble Aware | Gamblers Anonymous

Tom Lee's Betting Tips

View the latest racing tips from RTE Racing Presenter Tom Lee.

Read Toms Tips Now

Upcoming Meetings


View Complete Racing Schedule