Skybet Supreme Novices' Hurdle History

The Supreme Novices' Hurdle is a Grade One race run on day one of the Cheltenham Festival over two miles, 110 yards and is open to horses aged four years or older.

A race which attracts some of the up-and-coming hurdle stars, the Supreme Novices' is the curtain-raiser to the four day festival and often unearths a future superstar of the national hunt sphere.

Flyingbolt, officially rated the second best horse in history behind Arkle, won the Supreme Novices' in 1964, whilst L'Escargot won the second division of the 1968 race en route to winning the Cheltenham Gold Cup in 1970 and 1971 and the Grand National in 1975.

Up until 1972 the Supreme Novices' was split into two divisions and this enabled a whole host of emerging stars to do battle with each other over the eight flights of hurdles round the Old Course.

Many horses who win the Supreme Novices' Hurdle are often seen contesting the Champion Hurdle later on in their career and the Martin Pipe-trained Hors La Loi III and Colm Murphy-trained Brave Inca were the last pair to achieve both feats. 

Hors La Loi III won the 1999 Supreme before winning the Champion Hurdle in 2002, whilst the Irish raider Brave Inca won the 2004 Supreme before winning the Champion in 2006.

2014 Skybet Supreme Novices' Hurdle Runners and Form

The runners for the 2014 Supreme Novices' Hurdle won't be known until closer to the festival, but no doubt horses will be staking their claim for the contest as the season progresses and we will keep you up-to-date with the recent form guides on the race.

Recent Winners of Skybet Supreme Novices' Hurdle

  • 2000 - Sausalito Bay
  • 2001 - No Race
  • 2002 - Like-a-Butterfly
  • 2003 - Back in Front
  • 2004 - Brave Inca
  • 2005 - Arcalis
  • 2006 - Noland
  • 2007 - Ebaziyan
  • 2008 - Captain Cee Bee
  • 2009 - Go Native
  • 2010 - Menorah
  • 2011 - Al Ferof
  • 2012 - Cinders And Ashes
  • 2013 - Champagne Fever
  • 2014 - Vautour


Up to £100 in bet credits
Exclusive Promo Code
Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5 and 1x settled bet requirement to release Bet Credits. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&C's apply, 18+

We are committed to supporting Responsible Gambling Initiatives - For additional information visit : GamCare | Gamble Aware | Gamblers Anonymous

Tom Lee's Betting Tips

View the latest racing tips from RTE Racing Presenter Tom Lee.

Read Toms Tips Now

Upcoming Meetings


    View Complete Racing Schedule