We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

St James's Palace Stakes History

The St James's Palace Stakes is a Group One race run at Royal Ascot over one mile and is open to three-year-old colts.

One of the highlights of the opening day of Royal Ascot the St James's Palace Stakes was established in 1834 in which the inaugural race was a walkover.

Now one of the most hotly contested races of the season for three-year-olds it sees potential Classic contenders pit their wits against each other as they look for top class glory.

Historically, horses that have contested either the English 2000 Guineas or Irish equivalent head to this race and many have used this as a stepping stone for more Group One success later on in their career.

The legendary Brigadier Gerard won the 1971 St James's Palace Stakes before becoming one of the greatest horses of all time winning countless top class races including the Sussex Stakes, Lockinge Stakes and Eclipse Stakes during an illustrious career.

Kris was another elite performer and after he had won the 1979 for trainer Sir Henry Cecil he went on to win the Celebration Mile and Queen Elizabeth II Stakes the same season.  However, one man has dominated the training ranks in recent times and that is Aidan O'Brien, who trained the winner six times between 2000 and 2009.

Giant's Causeway handed the Ballydoyle supremo his first win in the Millennium year and went on to win the Juddmonte International Stakes and the Irish Champion Stakes the same season, whilst top class winners Rock of Gibraltar and Henrythenavigator were just another duo to win the race for O'Brien.

2010 saw Richard Hannon's Canford Cliffs take the prize and cement his place up their with the top milers, but the 2011 winner will be a name remembered in the racing game.

Frankel had already blown away a decent field in the 2000 Guineas and he head to Royal Ascot unbeaten and Cecil's phenomenon merely scorched the turf to win impressively after creating an unassailable lead turning for home.

Recent Winners of St James's Palace Stakes

  • 2000 - Giant's Causeway
  • 2001 - Black Minnaloushe
  • 2002 - Rock of Gibraltar
  • 2003 - Zafeen
  • 2004 - Azamour
  • 2005 - Shamardal
  • 2006 - Araafa
  • 2007 - Excellent Art
  • 2008 - Henrythenavigator
  • 2009 - Mastercraftsman
  • 2010 - Canford Cliffs
  • 2011 - Frankel
  • 2012 - Most Improved
  • 2013 - Dawn Approach
  • 2014 - Kingman