We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Betfred Sprint Cup - 6th September, 2014

Eddie Lynam's Sole Power produced another scintillating display when scything through the field in the closing stages to land the Nunthorpe Stakes at York's Ebor Festival and the mutliple Group One-winning sprinter will look to bag more top class silverware on Saturday in Haydock Park's Betfred Sprint Cup.

Sublime over five furlongs this season, the seven-year-old could well step up in trip on Saturday if taking his place in the field and if he can emulate that Knavesmire performance then will be the one to beat in this fascinating 6f contest at the weekend.

Gordon Lord Byron was a fine winner of this race 12 months ago and a repeat of that effort will certainly see him on the vicinity, but he has been struggling to land any significant blow in top sprints this year, so will be looking to recapture his winning ways.

Henry Candy's Music Master was a fine winner of a Listed event last time out and was previously a gallant runner-up to Slade Power in the July Cup and is still on the upgrade, whilst Dean Ivory's Tropics returned to form last time out with a win and is of interest in this intriguing betting heat.

Cougar Mountain disappointed in the aforementioned Nunthorpe, but is still relatively inexperienced and is entitlted to take his chance in this contest, whilst the likes of the speedy trio of Extortionist, G Force and Moviesta add great depth to a real weekend show-stopper.

Latest Betting for 2014 Betfred Sprint Cup

3/1 Sole Power

5/1 Gordon Lord Byron

7/1 Music Master

9/1 Tropics

9/1 G Force

10/1 Extortionist

12/1 Cougar Mountain

16/1 Hot Streak

20/1 Es Que Love

20/1 Pearl Secret

25/1 Moviesta

25/1 Baccarat

25/1 Maarek

33/1 Astaire

40/1 Professor

66/1 Caspar Netscher

66/1 Dinkum Diamond

33/1 BAR

Open an account with Betfred where you can get £25 worth of Free Bets.

Betfred Sprint Cup History

The Betfred Sprint Cup is a Group One race run at Haydock Park over six furlongs and is open to horses aged three years or older.

Following on from the Nunthorpe Stakes at York's Ebor Festival the Betfred Sprint Cup gives trainers another chance to send out their speedsters in a quest for Group One glory.  However, with the Nunthorpe being over the bare minimum trip of five furlongs the Betfred Sprint Cup over six furlongs is an equally stamina-testing contest.  Only Reverence in the last 10 years has managed to bag the Nunthorpe, Sprint Cup double in 2006.

Established in 1966 the Sprint Cup was an immediate success and the Cyril Mitchell-trained Be Friendly bagged back-to-back successes in the race, but since then a new name has been etched on the roll of honour each year, with many failing to retain their title.

Given Group One status in 1988 it is one of the last chances in the season for horses to bag that elusive top level success and historically the Sprint Cup has seen a top quality field line up.

John Dunlop has been the most successful trainer in the race's history bagging a quartet of wins with his first coming in 1981 with Runnett and last coming in 2002 with Invincible Spirit.

Some illustrious names have bagged Sprint Cup glory, but some of the best sprinters in recent memory have failed to get their head in front and in recent years the likes of Oasis Dream, Marchand d'Or and Starspangledbanner have all come up short.

Recent Winners of Sprint Cup

  • 2000 - Pipalong
  • 2001 - Nuclear Debate
  • 2002 - Invincible Spirit
  • 2003 - Somnus
  • 2004 - Tante Rose
  • 2005 - Goodricke
  • 2006 - Reverence
  • 2007 - Goodricke
  • 2008 - Afrrican Rose
  • 2009 - Regal Parade
  • 2010 - Markab
  • 2011 - Dream Ahead
  • 2012 - Society Rock
  • 2013 - Gordon Lord Byron
Bet £10 Get £30 in Free Bets
Exclusive Promo Code
New customers using Promo Code P30 only, min £10/€10 stake, min odds 1/2, free bets paid as 2 x £15/€15 (30 days expiry), free bet/payment method/player/country restrictions apply. T&C's apply, 18+ begambleaware.org
Up to £100 in bet credits
Exclusive Promo Code
Open Account Offer. Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5. Bet Credits available for use upon settlement of bets to value of qualifying deposit. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply. The bonus code ‘100BET365’ can be used during registration, but does not change the offer amount in any way. 18+ begambleaware.org.

We are committed to supporting Responsible Gambling Initiatives - For additional information visit : GamCare | Gamble Aware | Gamblers Anonymous

Tom Lee's Betting Tips

View the latest racing tips from RTE Racing Presenter Tom Lee.

Read Toms Tips Now

Upcoming Meetings


    View Complete Racing Schedule

    We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
    Got It