We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Solario Stakes - 30th August, 2014

Hugo Palmer's Aktabantay was last seen finishing a decent second in the Group 2 Superlative Stakes and the son of Oasis Dream will look to notch his first black-type victory on Saturday afternoon when lining up in the Solario Stakes at Sandown Park, which was a race won 12 months ago by Kingman.

There may not be a runner in the same stratosphere as that multiple Group 1 winner, but Aktabantay improved on a win at Newcastle two starts ago in that Superlative outing and if he can continue on an upward curve then has to be the one to beat in the 7f 16y contest.

Saeed Bin Suroor's Future Empire impressed when winning a Newmarket maiden by two-and-a-half lengths in late July and the New Approach colt will now face a much stiffer test, but the manner in which he pulled clear of his rivals suggested there's more to come and the market could provide some clues to his chances.

Andrew Balding's Elm Park bagged his maiden victory at the second time of asking at Newbury and that three-length win caught the eye as he ploughed through soft ground and he could be a factor here, in what is a fascinating betting heat.

Cock Of The North was way down the field in the Coventry Stakes at Royal Ascot, but improved on that when third in the aforementioned Superlative Stakes and he has to be considered, whilst the pairing of Pallister and Lexington Times aren't completely out of it and should play their part in what should be an informative renewal.

Latest Betting for 2014 Solario Stakes

15/8 Aktabantay

5/2 Future Empire

9/2 Elm Park

6/1 Cock Of the North

8/1 Pallister

14/1 Lexington Times

Open an account with Betfred where you can get £25 worth of Free Bets.

Solario Stakes History

The Solario Stakes is a Group Three race run over seven furlongs and 16 yards at Sandown Park for horses aged two-years old.

Established in 1947, the race was named after the top class racehorse from the 1920s Solario, who also went on to become a leading sire of that era.  Having originally been a Listed contest it was given promotion to be ran as a Group Three race and it has stayed at that level since 1986.

Historically a competitive contest, the Solario Stakes has been won by some future superstars and none more so than the legendary Oh So Sharp.  The Sir Henry Cecil-trained Classic winner won this contest in 1984 under Lester Piggott before going on to winning the Triple Crown bagging glory in the 1000 Guineas, Epsom Oaks and St Leger.

Cecil has a strong affiliation with the race and he currently heads the standings of the leading trainer in the race notching up six victories during his illustrious career.  Although the Warren Place handler has been extremely successful in this race, it's amazing that his last trained winner came in 1989 with Be My Chief.

Unsurprisingly, the great Lester Piggott is topping the leading jockey table and like Cecil he amassed six victories during his wonderful careeer.

More recently Breeders Cup Classic winner Raven's Pass used this race as a stepping stone to bigger and better things in 2007, whilst Native Khan emphatically won it in 2010 before finishing third behind Frankel in the 2000 Guineas a year later.

Recent Winners of Solario Stakes

  • 2000 - King's Ironbridge
  • 2001 - Redback
  • 2002 - Foss Way
  • 2003 - Barbajuan
  • 2004 - Windsor Knot
  • 2005 - Opera Cape
  • 2006 - Drumfire
  • 2007 - Raven's Pass
  • 2008 - Sri Putra
  • 2009 - Shakespearean
  • 2010 - Native Khan
  • 2011 - Talwar
  • 2012 - Fantastic Moon
  • 2013 - Kingman