Scottish Grand National History

The Scottish Grand National is a handicap race run at Ayr over four miles, 110 yards for horses aged five years or older and takes place one week after the Aintree Grand National.

Established in 1867, the race is the highlight of the Scottish national hunt calendar and has see some star-studded names take victory in the contest and the one that shines above all the others came in 1974.

After already recording victories in both the 1973 and 1974 Grand Nationals, Red Rum quickly turned out at Ayr after his 1974 Grand National victory and stormed to victory under Brian Fletcher to record another staying handicap chase success for trainer Donald McCain and cement his place as one of the leading horses ever to grace the jumping scene.

Another notable winner came in 1987 when Little Polveir recorded victory before using the race as a springboard to Aintree glory two years later, as he romped to victory in the 1989 Grand National.

More recently, Nigel Twiston-Davies' Earth Summit was victorious in the 1994 running before going on to Aintree success later on in his career, whilst David Nicholson's Moorcroft Boy was another classy winner in the 1996 renewal.

Recent Winners of Scottish Grand National

  • 2000 - Paris Pike
  • 2001 - Gingembre
  • 2002 - Take Control
  • 2003 - Ryalux
  • 2004 - Grey Abbey
  • 2005 - Joes Edge
  • 2006 - Run For Paddy
  • 2007 - Hot Weld
  • 2008 - Iris De Balme
  • 2009 - Hello Bud
  • 2010 - Merigo
  • 2011 - Beshabar
  • 2012 - Merigo
  • 2013 - Godsmejudge
  • 2014 - Al Co
Up to £100 in bet credits
Exclusive Promo Code
Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5 and 1x settled bet requirement to release Bet Credits. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&C's apply, 18+
Bet £10 Get £10
Exclusive Promo Code
Bonus Code: £10CHELT. 18+, Welcome Bonus: New Players only, 1st Deposit, Min Deposit: £10, max £10 free bet valid for 14 days, bets must be placed at odds of 1/1 or greater and be settled within 14 days of placement. System bets no eligible. T&C's apply, 18+

We are committed to supporting Responsible Gambling Initiatives - For additional information visit : GamCare | Gamble Aware | Gamblers Anonymous

Tom Lee's Betting Tips

View the latest racing tips from RTE Racing Presenter Tom Lee.

Read Toms Tips Now

Upcoming Meetings


    View Complete Racing Schedule