Bet365 Mile History

The Bet365 Mile is a Group Two race run at Sandown Park over one mile for horses aged four years or older and is run at the end of the April on the same meeting that holds the Bet365 Gold Cup over the jumps.

Established in 1985, the inaugural winner of the race was Clive Brittain's Pebbles who had already set the racing worl alight when winning the Nell Gwyn Stakes and the 1000 Guineas the year before to show that this contest can attract some of the leading Classic contenders from the previous season.

However, one man has dominated the race in recent history, as legendary trainer Richard Hannon trained the winner six times between 2004 and 2011.  He bagged his first victory with Hurricane Alan in 2004 before that raider returned to the track 12 months later to win back-to-back contests.

Hannon then repeated that feat in 2010 as 2009 winner Paco Boy managed to secure two consecutive wins in the Group Two contest and cement Hannon's place as the leading trainer in the race's history.

Steve Cauthen had a great record in this race bagging four winners in the race as a jockey, but he was joined by Richard Hughes in 2011 as the Irish jockey recorded his fourth win in a row aboard Hannon's Dick Turpin to join Cauthen on four winners.

Hannon's dominance in recent seasons has certainly showed that he is definitely a man to follow and it has also highlighted that this race can attract some top notch performers who head out of the Classic age and blossom with age.

Recent Winners of Bet365 Mile

  • 2000 - Indian Lodge
  • 2001 - Nicobar
  • 2002 - Swallow Flight
  • 2003 - Desert Deer
  • 2004 - Hurricane Alan
  • 2005 - Hurricane Alan
  • 2006 - Rob Roy
  • 2007 - Jeremy
  • 2008 - Major Cadeuax
  • 2009 - Paco Boy
  • 2010 - Paco Boy
  • 2011 - Dick Turpin
  • 2012 - Penitent
  • 2013 - Trumpet Major
  • 2014 - Tullius
Up to £100 in bet credits
Exclusive Promo Code
Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5 and 1x settled bet requirement to release Bet Credits. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&C's apply, 18+

We are committed to supporting Responsible Gambling Initiatives - For additional information visit : GamCare | Gamble Aware | Gamblers Anonymous

Tom Lee's Betting Tips

View the latest racing tips from RTE Racing Presenter Tom Lee.

Read Toms Tips Now

Upcoming Meetings


    View Complete Racing Schedule