We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Bet365 Classic Trial History

The Bet365 Trial is a Group Three race run at Sandown Park over one mile, two furlongs for three-year-olds and is widely regarded as a leading trial for the Epsom Derby.

Established in 1953, the Classic Trial has attracted some stellar names down the years with some top class thoroughbreds using the race as a springboard to Classic glory.

Dick Hern's Bustino was victorious in the 1974 running before going on to bag the St Leger later on in the season, but the one name that stands out above all others in the roll of honour is Shergar, who stormed to victory in this race in 1981.

Sir Michael Stoute's superstar was then simply sublime when going on to Epsom to lift the Derby crown in sensational fashion before adding the Irish equivalent to his CV as well the King George VI & Queen Elizabeth II Stakes at Ascot to round off a dominant season.

Stoute had a great record during the 1980s and Shahrastani emulated Shergar's achievements by bagging this contest in 1986 before grabbing the Derby double, whilst Fantastic Light was another winner of the Classic Trial for the legendary trainer.

More recently, Benny The Dip was the last horse to run in this contest en route to Derby success, as he managed to finish second in the Classic Trial before going on to bag the 1997 Epsom Derby to emphasise this race's quality as a Classic Trial.

Recent Winners of Bet365 Classic Trial

  • 2000 - Sakhee
  • 2001 - Chancellor
  • 2002 - Simeon
  • 2003 - Shield
  • 2004 - African Dream
  • 2005 - Fracas
  • 2006 - Primary
  • 2007 - Regime
  • 2008 - Centennial
  • 2009 - Above Average
  • 2010 - Azmeel
  • 2011 - Genius Beast
  • 2012 - Imperial Monarch
  • 2013 - Sugar Boy
  • 2014 - Western Hymn