We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

RSA Chase History

The RSA Chase is a Grade One chase run at the Cheltenham Festival over three miles, 110 yards and is open to horses aged five years or older.

Open to novice chasers the RSA attracts strong recruits from the hurdling game who are looking to become potential stars over the larger obstacles.  Invariably, runners contesting the RSA Chase would've been classy stayers over hurdles and may have contested the World Hurdle the year before.

However, the RSA is often used as a springboard to bigger and better things as many have gone from running in this race before going on to run in the Cheltenham Gold Cup later on in their career.

Some legendary names of the national hunt scene have managed to win the RSA Chase en route to the Gold Cup and some have even managed to win both. One name that immediately springs out of the illustrious roll of honour is the mighty Arkle, who won the 1963 RSA Chase before winning the Cheltenham Gold Cup in 1964, 1965 and 1966.

In 1992, Miinnehoma was a winning favourite of the RSA Chase and two years later the Martin Pipe-trained runner went on to win the 1994 Grand National to show the RSA Chase really does unearth some future superstars.

More recently, legendary Irish horse Florida Pearl took the 1998, whilst Looks Like Trouble won the title a year later before going on to win the 2002 Gold Cup.

Paul Nicholls' Denman was an emphatic ten length winner of the 2007 RSA Chase and the DItcheat star has since won one Gold Cup and finished second on three occasions.

2015 RSA Chase Runners and Form

The 2015 RSA Chase form will be an integral part of making punters minds up on who will win the contest and we will be keeping you informed of any relevant form guides.  We will also be providing you with a detailed look at the runners nearer raceday.

Recent Winners of RSA Chase

  • 2000 - Lord Noelie
  • 2001 - No Race
  • 2002 - Hussard Collonges
  • 2003 - One Knight
  • 2004 - Rule Supreme
  • 2005 - Trabolgan
  • 2006 - Star De Mohaison
  • 2007 - Denman
  • 2008 - Albertas Run
  • 2009 - Cooldine
  • 2010 - Weapon's Amnesty
  • 2011 - Bostons Angel
  • 2012 - Bobs Worth
  • 2013 - Lord Windermere
  • 2014 - O'faolains Boy