Ribblesdale Stakes History

The Ribblesdale Stakes is a Group Two race run at Royal Ascot over one mile and four furlongs for three-year-old fillies.

Established in 1919, this contest has long attracted some classy performers and often welcomes some fillies who have already competed in the Epsom Oaks earlier in the season.

Not only do trainers target this as another Group possibility following the Oaks, but with the Irish Oaks taking place the following month, fillies can be aimed at this contest and looking to use it as a stepping stone to Classic glory.

Barry Hills' Bolas was the last filly who managed to win the Ribblesdale before going on to Ireland and lifting the Irish Oaks title and this feat was accomplished in 1994.

A plethora of trainers have a good record in the race with Sir Henry Cecil, John Dunlop and Saeed Bin Suroor all having a terrific return in the race and all three of them have trained five or more winners of the Ribblesdale Stakes.

Another man that stars in the race that takes place on day three of Royal Ascot is Frankie Dettori, who has a great record in the 1m 4f contest.  Mainly partnering Saeed Bin Suroor and Godolphin, the diminutive Italian has managed to bag six victories in the race during his illustrious career to cement his place as the leading jockey in the history of the race.

Recent Winners of Ribblesdale Stakes

  • 2000 - Miletrian
  • 2001 - Sahara Slew
  • 2002 - Irresistible Jewel
  • 2003 - Spanish Sun
  • 2004 - Punctillious
  • 2005 - Thakafaat
  • 2006 - Mont Etoile
  • 2007 - Silkwood
  • 2008 - Michita
  • 2009 - Flying Cloud
  • 2010 - Hibaayeb
  • 2011 - Banimpire
  • 2012 - Princess Highway
  • 2013 - Riposte
  • 2014 - Bracelet
Up to £100 in bet credits
Exclusive Promo Code
Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5 and 1x settled bet requirement to release Bet Credits. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.

We are committed to supporting Responsible Gambling Initiatives - For additional information visit : GamCare | Gamble Aware | Gamblers Anonymous

Tom Lee's Betting Tips

View the latest racing tips from RTE Racing Presenter Tom Lee.

Read Toms Tips Now

Upcoming Meetings


    View Complete Racing Schedule