We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Racing Post - 25th October, 2014

Andrew Balding's Elm Park continued his rise up the juvenile rankings with an impressive victory in the Royal Lodge Stakes at Newmarket last time out and the classy performer will now aim to sparkle in Group One company on Saturday for what looks a fascinating renewal of the Racing Post Trophy at Doncaster.

The son of Phoenix Reach colt impressed when landing a Listed event at Salisbury, but showed he could well be en route to the top when landing that coveted Group 2 event at Flat HQ and he will set the standard for this race that is often used as a trial for next season's 2000 Guineas.

Aidan O'Brien has a superb record in this race having won the race six times and he will saddle a dual-pronged attack and Jacobean will aim to build on a decent second placed effort to stablemate Royal Navy Ship on his first career start and he could well spearhead the Ballydoyle duo.

However, Aloft tasted success on his second start at Newmarket last time out and is sure to improve again for that experience and from the red-hot stable can't be ignored in what should be a real informative renewal on Town Moor on Saturday.

Sir Mark Prescott's unbeaten Celestial Path bagged a Listed win at Haydock Park last time out and shaped as if there's a lot more to come and has to be a leading rival, whilst William Muir's Restorer will aim to build on a decent second place finish in the Autumn Stakes and adds more depth to the race.

Latest Betting for 2014 Racing Post Trophy

7/4 Elm Park

7/2 Jacobean

9/2 Celestial Path

8/1 Restorer

10/1 Snoano

12/1 Aloft

16/1 Tupi

20/1 Cock Of The North

Open an account with Betfred where you can get £25 worth of Free Bets.

Racing Post Trophy

The Racing Post Trophy is a Group One race run over one mile at Doncaster and is open to two-year-old fillies and colts.

Established in 1961, the Racing Post Trophy is the final UK Group One race of the season and it has historically been an ultra-competitive contest with the leading juveniles heading to Doncaster as they look to end the season on a high.

Often unearthing potential superstars, the Racing Post Trophy has often been classed as a Classic trial with many runners going on to race in the Guineas and the Derby the following season.

Reference Point was the first horse to win the Racing Post Trophy and venture on to Epsom Derby glory a year later.  Sir Henry Cecil's charge won the two-year-old race in 1986 and then bagged Debry success in 1987 and even notched up victory in the St Leger later in the year for the Warren Place handler.

Since then a trio of horses have emulated Reference Point's heroics by winning the Racing Post Trophy and then heading to the Downs the following season to win the Epsom Derby.

High Chaparral won the 2001 Racing Post Trophy for Aidan O'Brien, whilst Motivator was successful in 2004 and finally Authorized bagged Doncaster juvenile success in 2006 before lifting the Epsom crown in 2007.

Cecil has an outstanding record in the race as the legendary trainer has amassed a staggering 10 winners throughout his illustrious training career with his first coming in 1969 with Approval and his last in 1993 with King's Theatre.

Recent Winners of Racing Post Trophy

  • 2000 - Dilshaan
  • 2001 - High Chaparral
  • 2002 - Brian Boru
  • 2003 - American Post
  • 2004 - Motivator
  • 2005 - Palace Episode
  • 2006 - Authorized
  • 2007 - Ibn Khaldun
  • 2008 - Crowded House
  • 2009 - St Nicholas Abbey
  • 2010 - Casamento
  • 2011 - Camelot
  • 2012 - Kingsbarns
  • 2013 - Kingston Hill