We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Queen Anne Stakes History

The Queen Anne Stakes is a Group One race run at Royal Ascot over one mile for horses aged four years or older.

Named in the honour of the founder of Ascot racecourse, it had initially been known as the Trial Stakes, but in 1930 the name was altered to commemorate Queen Anne.

Having originally been opened to three-year-olds as well, it was decided in 2003 that four should be the minimum age for the race and with that it became a Group One contest attracting the best older milers from all over Europe.

Historically, horses have contested the St James's Palace Stakes as a three-year-old and then come back to Royal Ascot the following season to contest the Queen Anne and many have achieved a victory in both races.

Some have also used it as a stepping stone for international glory and the Luca Cumani-trained Barathea won the 1994 Queen Anne Stakes before heading over to the United States to win the Breeders' Cup Mile.

Closer to home Cape Cross had already been successful in the Lockinge Stakes in 1998 before winning the 1999 Queen Anne Stakes and Refuse to Bend progressed from winning the 2000 Guineas in 2003 before winning the Queen Anne and Eclipse Stakes a year later.

More recently there have been some absolute superstars bag the Group One title and none more so than wonder mare Goldikova, who won the 2010 renewal.  However, Freddy Head's stable star was outclassed the following year in an almighty battle with Richard Hannon's Canford Cliffs, who cemented his place as one of the top milers in recent memory.

Recent Winners of Queen Anne Stakes

  • 2000 - Kalanisi
  • 2001 - Medicean
  • 2002 - No Excuse Needed
  • 2003 - Dubai Destination
  • 2004 - Refuse to Bend
  • 2005 - Valixir
  • 2006 - Ad Valorem
  • 2007 - Ramonti
  • 2008 - Haradasun
  • 2009 - Paco Boy
  • 2010 - Goldikova
  • 2011 - Canford Cliffs
  • 2012 - Frankel
  • 2013 - Declaration Of War
  • 2014 - Toronado