We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Punchestown Gold Cup History

The Punchestown Gold Cup is a Grade One race run at the Punchestown Festival over three miles, one furlong for horses aged five years or older.

Established in 1999, this race has quickly become one of the standout races of the entire Festival and attratcs some of the leading staying chasers from the UK & Ireland and the race often sees horses that have run in the Cheltenham Gold Cup a few weeks previously line up in this contest.

Raymond Hurley's Imperial Call was the inaugural winner of the event in 1999 and the 1996 Cheltenham Gold Cup winner quickly showed that this race will provide punters with a top class contest.

Other notable names to bag this title in the early years were the great Florida Pearl, who won the race in 2002, whilst two Cheltenham Gold Cup winners Kicking King and War Of Attrition were two standout winners in 2005 and 2006, with the latter the last horse to bag glory at Prestbury Park at the Cheltenham Festival before securing victory in this heat.

Paul Nicholls' Neptune Collonges has a great record in the race and in 2007 and 2008 the classy grey managed to win back-to-back renewals of the race and handing Ruby Walsh another brace of wins in the coveted contest.

Philip Hobbs' Planet Of Sound was another winner from the UK in 2010, but generally this race has been dominated by the leading Irish chasers, but it continues to attract leading British horses and is sure to go from strength to strength as time goes by.

Recent Winners of Punchestown Gold Cup

  • 2000 - Commanche Court
  • 2001 - Moscow Express
  • 2002 - Florida Pearl
  • 2003 - First Gold
  • 2004 - Beef Or Salmon
  • 2005 - Kicking King
  • 2006 - War Of Attrition
  • 2007 - Neptune Collonges
  • 2008 - Neptune Collonges
  • 2009 - Notre Pere
  • 2010 - Planet Of Sound
  • 2011 - Follow The Plan
  • 2012 - China Rock
  • 2013 - Sir Des Champs