We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Punchestown Champion Chase History

The Punchestown Champion Chase is a Grade One race run at the Punchestown Festival over two miles for horses aged five years or older.

One of the highlights of the Punchestown extravaganza, this contest often attracts horses that have competed at the Cheltenham Festival in the Queen Mother Champion Chase as they look to rack up their second Grade One prize in a few weeks of each other.

Not only does this contest lure in the great two mile chasers from Ireland, but many horses from the UK travel over to take part in the contest and many have been successful down the years and have etched their name in the illustrious roll of honour.

Fortria was a classy winner of this race back in the 1960's for Tom Dreaper, who is incidentally the most successful trainer with six wins in the contest's history.

Viking Flagship won the Punchestown Champion Chase in 1993 before becoming the top two-miler by bagging the Queen Mother Champion Chase crown in both 1994 and 1995 for trainer David Nicholson.

Flagship Uberalles was another who bagged glory each side of the Irish Sea as he bagged Champion Chase glory at the 2003 Cheltenham Festival before securing the Punchestown Champion Chase crown the following year.

Moscow Flyer adds great substance to the race's history as he went on to win the 2004 and secured a second Champion Chase crown at Prestbury Park in 2005, whilst Master Minded was the last horse to achieve success in both this contest and the Queen Mother in the same season as Paul Nicholls' star bagged dual glory in 2009.

Recent Winners of Punchestown Champion Chase

  • 2000 - Get Real
  • 2001 - Micko's Dream
  • 2002 - Strong Run
  • 2003 - Flagship Uberalles
  • 2004 - Moscow Flyer
  • 2005 - Rathgar Beau
  • 2006 - Newmill
  • 2007 - Mansony
  • 2008 - Twist Magic
  • 2009 - Master Minded
  • 2010 - Golden Silver
  • 2011 - Big Zeb
  • 2012 - Sizing Europe
  • 2013 - Sprinter Sacre