We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Prince of Wales's Stakes History

The Prince of Wales's Stakes is a Group One race run at Royal Ascot over one mile, two furlongs for horses aged four years or older.

Established in 1862, the Prince of Wales's Stakes has grown in stature over the years and it was eventually promoted to Group One status in 2000 and now attracts some of the leading middle distance horses around and is usually contested on the second day of Royal Ascot.

Notable winners of the race are the Alec Stewart-trained Mtoto who bagged this event in 1987 and then retained the title a year later before going on to more Group One successes in the King George VI & Queen Elizabeth Stakes and Eclipse Stakes.

Muhtarram was the last horse to win back-to-back renewals of the Prince of Wales's Stakes in 1994 and 1995 after John Gosden's raider had already bagged the 1993 Irish Champion Stakes.

Sir Henry Cecil's Bosra Sham is certainly a shining light in the illustrious roll of honour after bagging 1000 Guineas glory before winning the 1997 Prince of Wales's Stakes.

At the turn of the century Saeed Bin Suroor dominated the training ranks and won the 2000, 2001 and 2002 renewals with Dubai Millennium, Fantastic Light and Grandera all taking the Group One crown.

Wonder filly Ouija Board has her name etched on the list of winners when winning it in 2006 following a dual Oaks winning campaign two years earlier, whilst Rewilding's win in the 2011 Prince of Wales's Stakes will be remembered as an absolute classic.

With Ballydoyle superstar So You Think being sent off a short-priced favourite, a phenomenonal ride from Frankie Dettori saw Godolphin's Rewilding get up in the final strides to beat the ex-Australian superstar.

Recent Winners of Prince of Wales's Stakes

  • 2000 - Dubai Millennium
  • 2001 - Fantastic Light
  • 2002 - Grandera
  • 2003 - Nayef
  • 2004 - Rakti
  • 2005 - Azamour
  • 2006 - Ouija Board
  • 2007 - Manduro
  • 2008 - Duke of Marmalade
  • 2009 - Vision d'Etat
  • 2010 - Byword
  • 2011 - Rewilding
  • 2012 - So You Think
  • 2013 - Al Kazeem
  • 2014 - The Fugue