We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Pertemps Final Handicap Hurdle

The Pertemps Final Handicap Hurdle is a Listed race run on day three of the Cheltenham Festival over three miles for horses aged five years or older.

Established in 1974, the Pertemps Final has now become one of the leading handicap contests at the festival as big fields battle it out for festival glory.  In the race's early days one horse became synonymous with the race and that was Willie Wumpkins.

Jane Pilkington's inmate won the race as an 11-year-old in 1979 off 10st 4lbs and managed to not only to retain his title the following year off 10st 7lbs, but notched up three wins in a row in 1981 as a 13-year-old carrying 10st 8lbs to hand jockey Mr Jim Wilson a trio of wins in the race aboard the gelding.

With the race continually growing in popularity it now has a series of qualifiers that take place during the season, so the leading handicap hurdlers can make it into the contest.  Not only are their qualifiers throughout the season in the UK, but there are also preliminaries taking place in both Ireland and France which gives this race a European edge.

At the turn of the century the Pertemps Final would attract some progressive winners with Ballyfitz being an eyecatching winner in 2008 before going on to compete in the Welsh National later on in his career, but it's Buena Vista who will be most remembered in the recent winners list.

After winning the 2010 renewal under a front-running ride from Hadden Frost, the David Pipe-trained runner then returned to the festival 12 months later and produced a carbon copy performance under Conor O'Farrell to notch up successive wins in the race.

2015 Pertemps Final Handicap Hurdle Runners and Form

Often attracting a large field we will keep an eye on any of the runners who show excellent form coming into the race and we will also provide you with a thorough list of all the runners that will go to post for race two on the tihrd day of the Cheltenham Festival.

Recent Winners of Pertemps Final

  • 2000 - Rubhahunish
  • 2001 - No Race
  • 2002 - Freetown
  • 2003 - Inching Closer
  • 2004 - Creon
  • 2005 - Oulart
  • 2006 - Kadoun
  • 2007 - Oscar Park
  • 2008 - Ballyfitz
  • 2009 - Kayf Aramis
  • 2010 - Buena Vista
  • 2011 - Buena Vista
  • 2012 - Cape Tribulation
  • 2013 - Holywell
  • 2014 - Fingal Bay


Up to £100 in bet credits
Exclusive Promo Code
Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5 and 1x settled bet requirement to release Bet Credits. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&C's apply, 18+ begambleaware.org.
Bet £10 Get £10
Exclusive Promo Code
Bonus Code: £10CHELT. 18+, Welcome Bonus: New Players only, 1st Deposit, Min Deposit: £10, max £10 free bet valid for 14 days, bets must be placed at odds of 1/1 or greater and be settled within 14 days of placement. System bets no eligible. T&C's apply, 18+ begambleaware.org.

We are committed to supporting Responsible Gambling Initiatives - For additional information visit : GamCare | Gamble Aware | Gamblers Anonymous

Tom Lee's Betting Tips

View the latest racing tips from RTE Racing Presenter Tom Lee.

Read Toms Tips Now

Upcoming Meetings


    View Complete Racing Schedule

    We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
    Got It