We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Norfolk Stakes History

The Norfolk Stakes is a Group Two race run at Royal Ascot over five furlongs for two-year-old horses.

Established in 1843 and originally run as the New Stakes, this contest gives the chance for the juvenile brigade to gain a coveted prize and run on the third day of the Royal meeting often attracts some of the leading two-year-olds in the UK & Ireland.

It continued to grow in stature as time went on and in 2006 was eventually given Grade Two status and is now an integral part of Royal Ascot and recently it has seen some classy winners of the contest.

One name that stands is Aidan O'Brien's Johannesburg, who bagged a sublime victory in the 2001 Norfolk Stakes before going on to bag multiple Group victories during a superb two-year-old campaign.

Success in the Prix Morny was followed by victory in the Middle Park Stakes before the Ballydoyle speedster went on to bag victory in the Breeders' Cup Juvenile to round off a terrific season and shows that some classy raiders can come out of this contest.

Peter Chapple-Hyam won back-to-back contests in 2006 and 2007 with Dutch Art and Winker Watson, whilst William Haggas' Approve bagged glory in 2010 to add yet more gloss to an illustrious roll of honour.

Recent Winners of Norfolk Stakes

  • 2000 - Superstar Leo
  • 2001 - Johannesburg
  • 2002 - Baron's Pit
  • 2003 - Russaian Valour
  • 2004 - Blue Dakota
  • 2005 - Masta Plasta
  • 2006 - Dutch Art
  • 2007 - Winker Watson
  • 2008 - South Central
  • 2009 - Radiohead
  • 2010 - Approve
  • 2011 - Bapak Chinta
  • 2012 - Reckless Abandon
  • 2013 - No Nay Never
  • 2014 - Baitha Alga