We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Molecomb Stakes History

The Molecomb Stakes is a Group Three race run at Glorious Goodwood over five furlongs for two-year-old horses.

Established in 1825, this contest is run on the opening day of the five-day festival and allows the juvenile to sparkle over the minimum distance and many look to use it as a springboard to bigger and better things later on in their career.

It can be used as a potential stepping stone to the Flying Childers Stakes at Doncaster and Fleeting Spirit managed to bag a victory in both those contests in 2007 before going on to back a Group One later on in her career, by storming to a superb victory in the 2009 July Cup.

However, he wasn't the only star performer to emerge from the race in recent times as Richard Hannon's Monsieur Chevalier was a classy winner of the 2009 renewal and the two-year-old king managed to retain the title 12 months later as Zebedee romped to victory for the Hannon-Richard Hughes partnership.

Lester Piggott is one man that shines above everyone else as the legendary pilot managed to ride the winner of the race on eight occasions throughout his illustrious career having bagged his first victory on board Abelia in 1957 and his last in 1983 with Precocious to cement his place as the most coveted jockey in the history of the Molecomb.

Recent Winners of Molecomb Stakes

  • 2000 - Misty Eyed
  • 2001 - Whitbarrow
  • 2002 - Wunders Dream
  • 2003 - Majestic Missile
  • 2004 - Tournedos
  • 2005 - Fire Up The Band
  • 2006 - Enticing
  • 2007 - Fleeting Spirit
  • 2008 - Finjaan
  • 2009 - Monsieur Chevalier
  • 2010 - Zebedee
  • 2011 - Requinto
  • 2012 - Bungle Inthejungle
  • 2013 - Brown Sugar
  • 2014 - Cotai Glory