We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Middle Park Stakes History

The Middle Park Stakes is a Group One race run over six furlongs at Newmarket for two-year-old colts.  Run on Newmarket's Rowley Mile the Middle Park Stakes makes up part of the Future Champions Day where the two-year-olds take centre stage with the Rockfel Stakes and Dewhurst Stakes taking place the same day.

Established in 1866, the Middle Park Stakes has been historically used as a stepping stone to the 2000 Guineas the following year and many have bagged a Middle Park/Guineas double.  The last horse to bag both titles was the Peter Chapple-Hyam-trained Rodrigo De Triano, who stormed to glory in the Classic in 1992 after winning the Middle Park in 1991.

Originally part of Newmarket's Cambridgeshire Meeting, the race was moved to later on in the season as HQ put together the Future Champions Day, allowing racegoers the chance to see the top two-year-olds in action.

Dream Ahead was an emphatic winner in 2010 winning by nine lengths and he showed his class when winning the July Cup the following year.  So, the Middle Park Stakes can be a perfect stepping stone for more Group One glory the following year.

Recent Winners of Middle Park Stakes

  • 2000 - Minardi
  • 2001 - Johannesburg
  • 2002 - Oasis Dream
  • 2003 - Balmont
  • 2004 - Ad Valorem
  • 2005 - Amadeus Wolf
  • 2006 - Dutch Art
  • 2007 - Dark Angel
  • 2008 - Bushranger
  • 2009 - Awzaan
  • 2010 - Dream Ahead
  • 2011 - Crusade
  • 2012 - Reckless Abandon
  • 2013 - Astaire
  • 2014 - Charming Thought