We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Martin Pipe Conditional Jockeys' Handicap Hurdle

The Martin Pipe Conditional Jockeys' Handicap Hurdle is a race run on day four of the Cheltenham Festival over two miles, four-and-a-half furlongs for conditional jockeys and is open to horses aged four years or older.

Established in 2009, the race was named after one of racing's greatest trainers in Martin Pipe, who during an illustrious career was champion trainer 15 times and amassed 34 victories at the Cheltenham Festival.  Still strongly linked with the festival, Pipe has now handed over the reins of his Pond House empire to son David, who has already saddled the winner of the Grand National in Comply Or Die.

One of the highlights of this contest is that it gives conditional jockeys the chance to ride at the Cheltenham Festival and try and bag themselves a winner and propel them on to the big stage.

Andytown was an emphatic nine length winner of the 2009 race beating 100/1 shot Midnight Chase, who took the national hunt scene by storm in 2011 by winning multiple chase contests before coming up shot in the Cheltenham Gold Cup to show this race can unearth future stars.

Willie Mullins' Sir Des Champs won an absolute cracker in 2011 having been outpaced for most of the race, jockey Emmet Mullins managed to get a tune out of his mount late on to take the lead in the closing stages to win at 9/2 favourite.

2015 Martin Pipe Conditional Jockeys' Handicap Hurdle Runners and Form

Like any other race at the Cheltenham Festival it's always good to have a knowledge of recent form lines and we will be keeping in touch with any available, as well as providing a full list of runners on the day of the race.

Recent Winners of Martin Pipe Conditional Jockeys' Handicap Hurdle

  • 2009 - Andytown
  • 2010 - Pause and Clause
  • 2011 - Sir Des Champs
  • 2012 - Attaglance
  • 2013 - Salubrious
  • 2014 - Don Poli