We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Manifesto Novices' Chase History

The Manifesto Novices' Chase is a Grade One race run at Aintree's Grand National meeting over two miles, four furlongs for horses aged five years or older.

Established in 2009, this race is named after the impressive Manifesto, who during an illustrious career in the late 1800s and early 1900s won the Grand National on two occasions and was placed in four other Grand National.

It often attracts some quality novice chasers and usually sees a plethora of contenders who had previously been seen at the Cheltenham Festival the previous month and will see horses that run in eitther the Arkle Challenge Trophy or the Jewson Novices' Chase line up and go in search for some end of season glory.

The inaugural running of the event was won by Tom George's Tartak, as he emphatically beat Deep Purple by seven lengths with Calgary Bay back in third place to immediately show that this contest will attract some classy contenders.

Nicky Henderson's Mad Max was victorious in 2010 beating Somersby, who has since gone on to Grade One glory, by nine lengths, whilst Philip Hobbs secured the 2011 running of the race with Wishfull Thinking, who also went on to win a Grade One at the Punchestown Festival the same season.

As the race continues to blossom, the rae is certainly going to become more popular and will attract some stellar line-ups in the future and will soon be an integral part to the two-day Grand National meeting.

Recent Winners of Manifesto Novices' Chase

  • 2009 - Tartak
  • 2010 - Mad Max
  • 2011 - Wishfull Thinking
  • 2012 - Menorah
  • 2013 - Captain Conan
  • 2014 - Uxizandre