We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Lennox Stakes History

The Lennox Stakes is a Group Two contest run over seven furlongs at Glorious Goodwood for horses aged three years and older.

One of the more recent additions to the Glorious Goodwood race schedule, the Lennox Stakes was first run in 2000, where Observatory won for trainer John Gosden and jockey Kevin Darley.

Since then the race has grown significantly in stature and is now one of the highlights over the five days of Glorious Goodwood. 

With the race over seven furlongs it is a perfect assigment for those horses who lack the speed at the sprint trips, but have a question mark on their stamina in races beyond a mile.

The most successful runner in the race's short history is Nayyir, who won the race in 2002 and 2003 for jockey Eddie Ahern and trainer Gerard Butler.

More recently the brilliant Paco Boy bagged the prize in 2008 before going on to much higher acclamation when winning the Lockinge Stakes at Newbury.

Butler, Marcus Tregoning and Saeed Bin Suroor have all saddled two winners of the race, which usually is a highly competitive contest at the Sussex track.

Recent Winners of Lennox Stakes

  • 2000 - Observatory
  • 2001 - Fath
  • 2002 - Nayyir
  • 2003 - Nayyir
  • 2004 - Byron
  • 2005 - Court Masterpiece
  • 2006 - Iffraaj
  • 2007 - Tariq
  • 2008 - Paco Boy
  • 2009 - Finjaan
  • 2010 - Lord Shanakill
  • 2011 - Strong Suit
  • 2012 - Chachamaidee
  • 2013 - Garswood
  • 2014 - Es Que Love