We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

King's Stand Stakes History

The King's Stand Stakes is a Group One race run at Royal Ascot over five furlongs and is open to horses aged three years or older.

Established in 1860, the King's Stand is one of the most eagerly-anticipated sprinting races of the season as the top speedsters from the UK and Ireland are often joined by the quickest thoroughbreds from around the world.

Many of the runners contesting the King's Stand Stakes are often seen going to post in the Golden Jubilee Stakes, which is later in the week at Royal Ascot, whilst some wait to head for top sprints later in the flat racing calendar including the July Cup and the Nunthorpe Stakes.

Held on the opening day of Royal Ascot, the King's Stand Stakes regained Group One status in 2008 and is now an integral part of the Global Sprint Challenge, which incorporates sprints from all over the globe.

In recent times there have been some excellent winners of the King's Stand Stakes and many have used it as a stepping stone to bigger and better things.  Dick Hern's Dayjur won the 1990 renewal before going on to Nunthorpe Stakes victory the same year before grabbing the honours in the six furlong Sprint Cup at the end of the season.

Lochsong was another classy winner, who had already bagged big race glory in the Ayr Gold Cup and Nunthorpe Stakes in his career before winning the 1994 King's Stand.

More recently some international runners have bagged the UK sprinting crown with Choisir in 2003. Takeover Target in 2006, Miss Andretti in 2007 and Scenic Blast in 2009 all soaring to glory for Australia.

Equiano has been the most successful horse since the turn of the century winning the 2008 renewal and then regaining the title in 2010 under a power-packed Michael Hills ride.

Recent Winners of King's Stand Stakes

  • 2000 - Nuclear Debate
  • 2001 - Cassandra Go
  • 2002 - Dominica
  • 2003 - Choisir
  • 2004 - The Tatling
  • 2005 - Chineur
  • 2006 - Takeover Target
  • 2007 - Miss Andretti
  • 2008 - Equiano
  • 2009 - Scenic Blast
  • 2010 - Equiano
  • 2011 - Prohibit
  • 2012 - Little Bridge
  • 2013 - Sole Power
  • 2014 - Sole Power