We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

King George V Stakes History

The King George V Stakes is a handicap race run at Royal Ascot over one mile, four furlongs for three-year-old horses.

Taking place on the third day of the five-day meeting this race draws the curtain on Thursday's action and is often a hotly-contested race with many trainers hoping that their three-year-olds can use it as a stepping stone up to Pattern company and many have used the contest as a springboard to Group races.

It is highlighted well with the winner of the 2011 renewal as runaway winner Brown Panther was sensational when recording victory for Tom Dascombe and he used the race as a prep for the St Leger and Doncaster and he went on to finish second in the Classic at the end of the season to show that this race can unearth future stars.

12 months previous, James Given's Dandino was another classy winner of the King George V Stakes and he managed to win the Group Two Jockey Club Stakes to add yet more substance to the illustrious roll of honour that has seen other top notch runners grab victory including Geoff Wragg's Heron Bay in 2007 and John Dunlop's Munsef in 2005.

Attracting double-figured fields annually this is one of the classiest handicaps of the entire Royal Ascot and no doubt as it continues to grow in stature it will provide yet more future black-type winners who go on to bigger and better things later on in their career.

Recent Winners of King George V Stakes

  • 2000 - Give The Slip
  • 2001 - Beekeeper
  • 2002 - Systematic
  • 2003 - Fantastic Love
  • 2004 - Admiral
  • 2005 - Munsef
  • 2006 - Linas Selection
  • 2007 - Herons Bay
  • 2008 - Colony
  • 2009 - Cosmic Sun
  • 2010 - Dandino
  • 2011 - Brown Panther
  • 2012 - Fennell Bay
  • 2013 - Elidor
  • 2014 - Elite Army