We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

King George Stakes History

The King George Stakes is a Group Two race run over five furlongs at Glorious Goodwood for horses aged three years or older.

Strong fields always contest this race and speed is the key for any horse taking part as the race is likely to be finished in between 56 and 58 seconds. 

With so many speedsters in training the King George Stakes always attracts a large field and with a valuable prize on offer the top trainers will invariably use this as a stepping stone on to the Nunthorpe Stakes at York in August.

Yet again, Lester Piggott is a name etched into the record books regarding the King George Stakes and the greatest flat jockey ever has partnered the winner no less than nine times throughout his illustrious career.  The most notable of these was Right Boy, who managed to win back-to-back renewals of the King George Stakes in 1958 and 1959.

The last horse to manage two victories in successive years was Lochsong, who in 1993 and 1994 won for jockey Frankie Dettori and trainer Ian Balding.

In recent years some top class sprinters have registered their names on the roll of honour with Kingsgate Native winning in 2009 and last year saw the plucky eight-year-old Borderlescott winning for trainer Robin Bastiman.

Recent winners of King George Stakes

  • 2000 - Cassandra Go
  • 2001 - Dietrich
  • 2002 - Agnetha
  • 2003 - The Tatling
  • 2004 - Ringmoor Down
  • 2005 - Fire Up The Band
  • 2006 - La Cucaracha
  • 2007 - Moorhouse Lad
  • 2008 - Enticing
  • 2009 - Kingsgate Native
  • 2010 - Borderlescott
  • 2011 - Masamah
  • 2012 - Ortensia
  • 2013 - Moviesta
  • 2014 - Take Cover