We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

King Edward VII Stakes History

The King Edward VII Stakes is a Group Two race run at Royal Ascot over one miles, four furlongs and is open to three-year-old horses.

Established in 1834, this contest is one of the highlights on day four of the Royal meeting and can sometimes attract runners who have taken part in the Epsom Derby a few weeks before.

Often this contest will be targeted by trainers who want to try their horses out at the longer trips and it is often used as a springboard to Group Ones later in the season and some notable winners of the King Edward VII Stakes have gone on to bag much greatet achievements.

John Gosden's Nathaniel was a classy winner of the 2011 running and he went on to bag more Ascot glory by producing a sublime effort to win the King George VI & Queen Elizabeth Stakes and cement his place as one of the star three-year-olds.

The top class winners of this race have often been sent over to Longchamp at te end of the season and try and grab victory in the Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe to highlight that this is a top class contest.

Other notable winners in the past include, Monterosso, who won the 2010 running before going on to win the 2012 Dubai World Cup, whilst Royal Anthem and Mutafaweq are another brace of cracking winners in what is one of the most eagerly-anticipated races of hte five-day Royal Ascot extravaganza.

Recent Winners of King Edward VII Stakes

  • 2000 - Subtle Power
  • 2001 - Storming Home
  • 2002 - Balakheri
  • 2003 - High Accolade
  • 2004 - Five Dynasties
  • 2005 - Plea Bargain
  • 2006 - Papal Bull
  • 2007 - Boscobel
  • 2008 - Campanologist
  • 2009 - Father Time
  • 2010 - Monterosso
  • 2011 - Nathaniel
  • 2012 - Thomas Chippendale
  • 2013 - Hillstar
  • 2014 - Eagle Top