Fulke Walwyn Kim Muir Challenge Cup History

The Fulke Walwyn Kim Muir Challenge Cup is a handicap chase for amateur riders run on day three of the Cheltenham Festival over three miles, one-and-a-half furlongs for horses aged five years or older.

Established in 1946, it was originally known as the Kim Muir Challenge Cup, but Fulke Walwyn was added to the front of the title in 1991 to commemorate one of racing's most legendary trainers.  During an illustrious career Walwyn amassed over 200 winners at Cheltenham with 40 of those coming at the festival.

With the race being a true test of stamina trainers often use the race as a potential warm-up to the Aintree Grand National and even the Cheltenham Gold Cup. 

Nicolaus Silver was the first to achieve victory in the Kim Muir in 1961 before heading to Merseyside to win the Grand National the following month.  The most recent to emulate Nicolaus Silver's achievements was 2011 Grand National winner Ballabriggs who had won the 2010 Kim Muir en route to gaining Aintree supremacy.

Cool Ground was a one-and-a-half length winner of the 1989 Kim Muir and three years later returned to Prestbury Park to win the 1992 Cheltenham Gold Cup under jockey Adrian Maguire to show this race can unearth future superstars.

Junior was an emphatic 24 length winner of the 2011 renewal for trainer David Pipe and enhanced his illustrious roll of honour as he was seen in 2010 winning at Royal Ascot.

2015 Fulke Walwyn Kim Muir Challenge Cup Runners and Form

As the national hunt season progresses will continually look at any form guides that may be relevant in the 2013 Fulke Walwyn Kim Muir Challenge Cup and nearer the time will be giving you a full list of runners who will be contesting the 2015 race.

Recent Winners of Fulke Walwyn Kim Muir Challenge Cup

  • 2000 - Honey Mount
  • 2001 - No Race
  • 2002 - Bushkeeper
  • 2003 - Royal Predica
  • 2004 - Maximise
  • 2005 - Juveigneur
  • 2006 - You're Special
  • 2007 - Cloudy Lanes
  • 2008 - High Chimes
  • 2009 - Character Building
  • 2010 - Ballabriggs
  • 2011 - Junior
  • 2012 - Sunnyhillboy
  • 2013 - Same Difference
  • 2014 - Spring Heeled


Up to £100 in bet credits
Exclusive Promo Code
Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5 and 1x settled bet requirement to release Bet Credits. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&C's apply, 18+ begambleaware.org.

We are committed to supporting Responsible Gambling Initiatives - For additional information visit : GamCare | Gamble Aware | Gamblers Anonymous

Tom Lee's Betting Tips

View the latest racing tips from RTE Racing Presenter Tom Lee.

Read Toms Tips Now

Upcoming Meetings


    View Complete Racing Schedule