We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

July Stakes History

The July Stakes is a Group Two race run at Newmarket over six furlongs for two-year-old colts and is often regarded as a potential trial for the 2000 Guineas

One of the highlights of the July Festival run at flat racing headquarters, the July Stakes is often used as a prep race for the Middle Park Stakes at the end of the season and some horses have managed to win this en route to that Group One contest.  Furthermore, colts that have performed well in this race and in the Middle Park have been known to return to Newmarket and try and bag victory in the 2000 Guineas.

Having oringinally been classed as a Group Three race it was promoted in 2003 to Group Two status and is now widely regarded as one of the leading two-year-old races of the entire season and so much so that some of the top juveniles will head to the 6f start.

Sir Michael Stoute's Green Desert was a classy winner of the race in 1985 before he went on to bag glory in the Flying Childers Stakes and July Cup later on in his career, whilst Geoff Wragg's First Trump won this in 1993 before notching up success in the Middle Park Stakes later in on the season.

David Loder managed to win three successive July Stakes prizes between 1999 and 2001 with Noverre being the most notable winner in 2000, as he went on to lift the Champagne Stakes and the Sussex Stakes later on in his career.

More recently, Libranno and Frederick Engels have been notable winners of a race that has a habit of unearthing potential Group One performers who use the July Stakes as a catalyst for more coveted success later on in their career.

Recent Winners of July Stakes

  • 2000 - Noverre
  • 2001 - Meshaheer
  • 2002 - Mister Links
  • 2003 - Nevisian Lad
  • 2004 - Captain Hurricane
  • 2005 - Ivan Denisovich
  • 2006 - Strategic Prince
  • 2007 - Winker Watson
  • 2008 - Classic Blade
  • 2009 - Arcano
  • 2010 - Libranno
  • 2011 - Frederick Engels
  • 2012 - Alhebayeb
  • 2013 - Anjaal