We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Irish Derby History

The Irish Derby is a Group One race run at the Curragh over one mile, four furlongs for horses aged three years old.

Established in 1866 the Irish Derby has always attracted some of the top three-year-olds from the UK & Ireland and with it currently sitting in the calendar three weeks after the Epsom Derby, it is the perfect assignment for the Classic contingent.

Down the years some of the best thoroughbreds have etched their name on the roll of honour with the likes of Nijinsky winning the 1970 renewal, whilst more recently the likes of Montjeu in 1999, Galileo in 2001 and High Chaparral in 2002 have stormed to Irish Derby glory.

However, one name has dominated the Irish Derby in recent years and that is Aidan O'Brien, who has saddled nine winners in the last 15 runnings of the Classic.  The Ballydoyle supremo always has a strong hand in the race and since he bagged his first success with Desert King in 1997 he has not looked back.

Along with the aforementioned duo of Galileo and High Chapparal, O'Brien has trained some greats to victory in the last decade with Dylan Thomas in 2006 and Fame and Glory in 2009 being two of the very best.

Not only has the great Irish trainer saddled the winners on numerous occasions he has trained the first three home in the race,  A feat he managed in the 2011 renewal with Treasure Beach beating Seville and Memphis Tennessee.

Recent Winners of Irish Derby

  • 2000 - Sinndar
  • 2001 - Galileo
  • 2002 - High Chaparral
  • 2003 - Alamshar
  • 2004 - Grey Shallow
  • 2005 - Hurricane Run
  • 2006 - Dylan Thomas
  • 2007 - Soldier of Fortune
  • 2008 - Frozen Fire
  • 2009 - Fame and Glory
  • 2010 - Cape Blanco
  • 2011 - Treasure Beach
  • 2012 - Camelot
  • 2013 - Trading Leather
  • 2014 - Australia