We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Irish 2000 Guineas - 24th May, 2014

John Gosden's Kingman may have lost his 100% record when beaten by Night Of Thunder in the 2000 Guineas at Newmarket earlier in the month, but the classy Invincible Spirit colt still produced a fine effort when second in that Group One and he will now look to build on that effort and grab Classic glory at the Curragh, as he lines up in the Irish 2000 Guineas.

He may have been slightly hampered by the race breaking up into two groups, but he still breezed to the lead under James Doyle before the fast finishing Richard Hannon-trained raider collared him in the shadow of the post, however, if that hasn't taken too much out of him then he certainly sets the standard in this fascinating renewa on Saturday afternoon.

Aidan O'Brien has won this event five of the last six times and the Ballydoyle supremo will unleash another superb team and they could be spearheaded by War Command, who disappointed when ninth in the English Guineas, but has shown a liking for the Curragh and will be capable of bouncing back.

Great White Eagle and Fountain Of Youth could be another couple of O'Brien representatives, but Kingman could face a stiffer challenge from Dermot Weld's Mustajeeb, who was last seen landing the Group Three Amethyst Stakes and is likely to improve again.

The Hannon team will bid for more Guineas success and have supplemented Shifting Power for the Group One event and he ran a cracker at huge odds at Newmarket in the Guineas and will be aiming to use that as a springboard to success here.

Of the others, Obliterator is a smart performer for Ger Lyons and has to come into calcularions, whilst Big Time is just another double-figured price contender who could outrun his odds in a race dominated by the Gosden-trained hotshot at the head of the betting.

Latest Betting for 2013 Irish 2000 Guineas

4/6 Kingman

11/2 Mustajeeb

13/2 War Command

7/1 Shifting Power

14/1 Great White Eagle

16/1 Obliterator

16/1 Michaelmas

16/1 Big Time

20/1 Johann Strauss

25/1 Fountain Of Youth

25/1 Prince Of All

33/1 Mandatario

66/1 Davids Park

66/1 Dolce N Karama

Open an account with Paddy Power where you can get £250 worth of Free Bets.

Irish 2000 Guineas History

The Irish 2000 Guineas is a Group One race run at the Curragh over one mile for three-year-old colts and fillies and is the opening Classic of the Irish flat season.

Established in 1921, this race will attract some of the leading three-year-olds from the UK & Ireland and with this contest taking place three weeks after the English 2000 Guineas then you often see horses taking in the Newmarket Classic before heading to Ireland to run in the Irish equivalent.

Many horses have managed to bag the coveted double with Right Track being the first to achieve the feat in 1969, whilst Henrythevaigator was a more recent winner of the Guineas double.

Down the years, some of the best racehorses in flat history have taken the Irish 2000 Guineas with the likes of Grundy, Sadler's Wells and Rodrigo De Triano all notable winners of the Group One race.

Some will often use the race as a stepping stone to more Group One glory and it has been known for many horses contesting this race to step up in distance and try and bag either the Epsom Derby or Irish Derby.

Aidan O'Brien has a terrrific record in the race and master of Ballydoyle has showed why he has been the dominant force in Irish racing for the last few decades and ever since Desert King won his first Classic in 1997, O'Brien has saddled some awesome winners of the race.

Rock Of Gibraltar is one of those stellar names from the Ballydoyle camp that shines and he won it in 2002, whilst Roderic O'Connor won in 2011 to hand Joseph O'Brien victory for his father.

Recent Winners of Irish 2000 Guineas

  • 2000 - Bachir
  • 2001 - Black Minnaloushe
  • 2002 - Rock Of Gibraltar
  • 2003 - Indian Haven
  • 2004 - Bachelor Duke
  • 2005 - Dubawi
  • 2006 - Araafa
  • 2007 - Cockney Rebel
  • 2008 - Henrythenavigator
  • 2009 - Mastercraftsman
  • 2010 - Canford Cliffs
  • 2011 - Roderic O'Connor
  • 2012 - Power
  • 2013 - Magician