We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Juddmonte International Stakes History

The Juddmonte International Stakes is a Group One race run over one mile, two furlongs and 88 yards at York for horses aged three years and older.

Traditionally, the Juddmonte International is the highlight of the opening day of York's four-day Ebor meeting in August and attracts a top notch field.  Currently York's richest race it has a star-studded roll of honour and it gives the chance for the Derby generation to tackle the older horses.

In recent years, two Derby winners have managed the Epsom Classic and Juddmonte double with Authorized prevailing in 2007 and more recently the incomparable Sea The Stars who won both Group One contests in 2009. 

Established in 1972, the International Stakes got off to a flying start as Roberto just edged out the mighty Brigadier Gerard to take the inaugural running of the race. 

Since then the race as blossomed and it is now one of the highlights of the flat season with the top middle distance horses doing battle on the Knavesmire.

Three horses have managed to win the race twice with Dahlia winning in 1974 and 1975, Ezzoud in 1993 and 1994 and Halling, who won the race for Godolphin in 1995 and 1996.

Trainer of Ezzoud, Sir Michael Stoute has managed to saddle five winners of the race, but Aidan O'Brien is the up-and-coming name who is bound to challenge for training supremacy in the race.  Already on three winners, the Ballydoyle supremo has already saddled a trio of stars in Giant's Causeway, Duke of Marmalade and Rip Van WInkle to glory and he is bound to have quality entrants for many years to come.

Recent Winners of Juddmonte International Stakes

  • 2000 - Giant's Causeway
  • 2001 - Sakhee
  • 2002 - Nayef
  • 2003 - Falbrav
  • 2004 - Sulamani
  • 2005 - Electrocutionist
  • 2006 - Notnowcato
  • 2007 - Authorized
  • 2008 - Duke of Marmalade
  • 2009 - Sea The Stars
  • 2010 - Rip Van WInkle
  • 2011 - Twice Over
  • 2012 - Frankel
  • 2013 - Declaration Of War
  • 2014 - Australia