We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Tercentenary Stakes History

The Tercentenary Stakes is a Group Three race run at Royal Ascot over one mile, two furlongs for horses aged three-years old.

With the Royal meeting originally taking place over four days, the Hampton Court Stakes used to take place on the Saturday fixture, which was known as the Ascot Heath meeting, but it was moved to become part of the Royal extravaganza in 2002 when Royal Ascot became five days long to commemmorate the Queen's Golden Jubilee Stakes.

Now an integral part of the third day's festivities, the Tercentenary Stakes is targeted by trainers who have horses that drop just below Group level and it is often a hotly-contested race in which several runners are in with a feasible chance.

Sir Henry Cecil has an excellent record in the race and the Warren Place handler trained the winners in 1987 and 1989 with Russian Steppe bagging victory in the former with Spritsail regaining the title for the legendary handler in the latter, whilst Middle Kingdom lifted the title in 1990.

Peter Chapple-Hyam is another man who has managed to train three winners in the race and he notched up his first victory in 1993 with White Muzzle, whilst Astor Place and Dark Moondancer completed the hat-trick for the Derby-winning trainer in 1996 and 1998, respectively.

Aidan O'Brien is the only man who has managed to win back-to-back Hampton Court prizes as the master of Ballydoyle managed to win the 2004 renewal with Moscow Ballet, whilst Indigo Cat retained the title 12 months later for the Irish legend with another impressive victory.

Other notable winners in more recent times include William Haggas' Collection who went on to greater glory in Hong Kong, whilst Glass Harmonium was a classy winner for Sir Michael Stoute in 2008.

Recent Winners of Tercentenary Stakes

  • 2000 - Port Vila
  • 2001 - Freefourinternet
  • 2002 - Burning Sun
  • 2003 - Persian Majesty
  • 2004 - Moscow Ballet
  • 2005 - Indigo Cat
  • 2006 - Snoqualmie Boy
  • 2007 - Zaham
  • 2008 - Collection
  • 2009 - Glass Harmonium
  • 2010 - Afsare
  • 2011 - Pisco Sour
  • 2012 - Energizer
  • 2013 - Remote
  • 2014 - Cannock Chase