We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Goodwood Cup History

The Goodwood Cup is a Group Two race run over two miles for horses aged three years and older and it is one of the many highlights of Glorious Goodwood.

Established in the 1800s the Goodwood Cup is one of the biggest races of the entire season for horses with excellent stamina.  The Goodwood Cup is the second leg of the Stayers' Triple Crown as the distance horses look to win the Ascot Gold Cup that precedes it in June and the Doncaster Cup which is run in September.

The most recent winner of the Stayers' Triple Crown was the excellent Double Trigger, who in fact won the Goodwood Cup on three occasions in 1995, 1997 and 1998.

Mark Johnston's stable star was a true great over the longer distances and the illustrious roll of honour the Goodwood Cup now shows off has some of the greatest stayers off all time.

Aidan O'Brien's Yeats was a phenomenon and even though he was an Ascot specialist, he managed to bag this event in 2006 and 2008 for Johnny Murtagh. 

Other notable successes in recent years have to include Persian Punch, as the old stalwart bagged the event twice and in 2003 caused chaotic scenes when winning the Goodwood Cup at the tender age of ten.

Recent Winners of Goodwood Cup

  • 2000 - Royal Rebel
  • 2001 - Persian Punch
  • 2001 - Jardines Lookout
  • 2003 - Persian Punch
  • 2004 - Darasim
  • 2005 - Distinction
  • 2006 - Yeats
  • 2007 - Allegretto
  • 2008 - Yeats
  • 2009 - Schiaparelli
  • 2010 - Illustrious Blue
  • 2011 - Opinion Poll
  • 2012 - Saddler's Rock
  • 2013 - Brown Panther
  • 2014 - Cavalryman