We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

The Galway Races

The Galway Races is one of the highlights of the Irish racing calendar as they incorporate both national hunt and flat action in a fantastic week of top quality racing.

Held in Ballybrit in 1869, where a two-day meeting was held, the Galway festival has blossomed with time and has continued to expand over the last century.  Extended to three days in the mid 1960s it continued to attract the crowds and since then it has steadily increased in days and in 1999 it was elongated to seven days, which it runs over today.

It gives a chance for punters and business people alike to come and watch some top quality racing as well as giving them a chance to socialise and possibly sponsor a race.

With over 50 races for punters to have a bet in, it is one of the biggest festivals in the world and it continues to gather momentum as more and more people visit the legendary track.

The highlight for many over the seven days is the Galway Plate, which is a national hunt chase run over two miles six furlongs, but there are a plethora of top class races with the Galway Hurdle, especially adding substance to the extravangaza.

A name synonymous with the Galway Festival is that of master trainer Dermot Weld, who has bagged the leading trainer award over 20 times in an illustrious career.  Weld has become an inspiration for up-and-coming trainers as his consistency over the seven-day meeting has been incomparable and it is no doubt this year the leader of Rosewell House will be vying for yet another top trainer gong.

Like many other festivals the Galway Races has a specified Ladies Day, which gives the female fratenrity the chance to dust off their best finery and go to the races in style.

All in all, the Galway Races festival gives everyone a chance to watch some top notch racing as well as socialising with friends and family.

Recent winners of the Galway Plate

  • 2000 - Dovaly
  • 2001 - Grimes
  • 2002 - Rockholm Boy
  • 2003 - Nearly a Moose
  • 2004 - Ansar
  • 2005 - Ansar
  • 2006 - Far From Trouble
  • 2007 - Sir Frederick
  • 2008 - Oslot
  • 2009 - Ballyholland
  • 2010 - Finger Onthe Pulse
  • 2011 - Blazing Tempo
  • 2012 - Bob Lingo

Recent winners of the Galway Hurdle

  • 2000 - Perugino Diamond
  • 2001 - Ansar
  • 2002 - Say Again
  • 2003 - Sabadilla
  • 2004 - Cloone River
  • 2005 - More Rainbows
  • 2006 - Cuan Na Grai
  • 2007 - Farmer Brown
  • 2008 - Indian Pace
  • 2009 - Bahrain Storm
  • 2010 - Overturn
  • 2011 - Moon Dice
  • 2012 - Rebel Fitz