We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

2013 Galmoy Hurdle Result

Bog Warrior continued his fine form over hurdles this season as he got the better of Zaidpour in an intriguing renewal of the Grade Two Galmoy Hurdle at Gowran Park and Tony Martin's raider was cut for the 2013 World Hurdle and is a lively contender for the Cheltenham Festival crown.

Sent to the front from the flag fall, Davy Russell always looked to be travelling smoothly on board the 8/11 favourite and he kicked turning for home and Ruby Walsh was unable to cajole the 2012 winner into contention and Zaidpour was beaten by three-and-a-quarter lengths.

2013 Galmoy Hurdle Result:

1. Bog Warrior (D Russell) 8/11 Fav

2. Zaidpour (R Walsh) 11/10

4 Ran

Galmoy Hurdle History

The Galmoy Hurdle is a Grade Two race run at Gowran Park over three miles for horses aged five years or older and is widely regarded as a trial for the World Hurdle at the Cheltenham Festival.

Established in 2002, this race has often seen some of the leading staying hurdlers in Ireland go to post to battle it out for a decent prize as they look to use the race as a stepping stone to bigger and better things.

Emotional Moment was a dual winner of the race for trainer Tom Taaffe and jockey Barry Geraghty as the pair teamed up to win the Galmoy Hurdle in both 2005 and 2006.

However, it would be more recently that some illustrious names would bag glory and the obvious stand-out winner was War of Attrition who was victorious in the 2010 renewal.  The 2006 Cheltenham Gold Cup winner had failed to build on his festival success and so trainer Mouse Morris decided to send him back over hurdles and as an 11-year-old, he managed to beat odds-on favourite Oscar Dan Dan and previous World Hurdle third Powerstation to lift the 2010 title.

Mourad romped to a six length success of the 2011 contest and was Ireland's biggest hope in the World Hurdle later on in the season at the Cheltenham Festival.  However, Willie Mullins' raider failed to live with the UK duo of Big Buck's and Grands Crus and had to settle for third place in an epic renewal of the World Hurdle.

Recent winners have shown that the Galmoy Hurdle is gradually picking up pace and is sure to unearth some future staying hurdling stars, who will venture over from the Emerald Isle to take on the best from the UK in the World Hurdle at Prestbury Park.

Recent Winners of Galmoy Hurdle

  • 2002 - Be My Belle
  • 2003 - Satco Express
  • 2004 - Rosaker
  • 2005 - Emotional Moment
  • 2006 - Emotional Moment
  • 2007 - Celestial Wave
  • 2008 - Earth Magic
  • 2009 - Alpha Ridge
  • 2010 - War of Attrition
  • 2011 - Mourad
  • 2012 - Zaidpour
  • 2013 - Bog Warrior
Bet £10 Get £30 in Free Bets
Exclusive Promo Code
New customers using Promo Code P30 only, min £10/€10 stake, min odds 1/2, free bets paid as 2 x £15/€15 (30 days expiry), free bet/payment method/player/country restrictions apply. T&C's apply, 18+ begambleaware.org
Up to £100 in bet credits
Exclusive Promo Code
Open Account Offer. Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5. Bet Credits available for use upon settlement of bets to value of qualifying deposit. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply. The bonus code ‘100BET365’ can be used during registration, but does not change the offer amount in any way. 18+ begambleaware.org.

We are committed to supporting Responsible Gambling Initiatives - For additional information visit : GamCare | Gamble Aware | Gamblers Anonymous

Tom Lee's Betting Tips

View the latest racing tips from RTE Racing Presenter Tom Lee.

Read Toms Tips Now

Upcoming Meetings


    View Complete Racing Schedule

    We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
    Got It