We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Flying Childers Stakes History

The Flying Childers Stakes is a Group Two race run at Doncaster over five furlongs for two-year-old horses and makes up part of the St Leger Festival.

Established in 1967, it had originally be called the Norfolk Stakes, but once a race at Royal Ascot was called the same thing, it was announced that the race would change in 1973 and commemorated an 18th century racehorse bred in Doncaster named Flying Childers.

From its inception it has attracted some of the leading up-and-coming sprinters and many have built on success in the race as they venture on to Group One glory. 

A prime example is the Sir Michael Stoute-trained Green Desert, who won the Flying Childers Stakes in 1985 before going on to win the July Cup and Sprint Cup crowns a year later.

Stoute has a terrific record in the race as the Freemasons Lodge handler has amassed five winners in the race with his first coming in 1977 with Music Maestro and his fifth in 2001 with Saddad.

More recently Fleeting Spirit used this contest as a springboard in 2007 to Group One glory by winning the 2009 renewal of the July Cup, so this race can unearth some future sprinting stars and help them build up to top notch successes later on in their careers.

Recent Winners of Flying Childers Stakes

  • 2000 - Superstar Leo
  • 2001 - Saddad
  • 2002 - Wunders Dream
  • 2003 - Howick Falls
  • 2004 - Chateau Istana
  • 2005 - Godfrey Street
  • 2006 - Wi Dud
  • 2007 - Fleeting Spirit
  • 2008 - Madame Trop Vite
  • 2009 - Sand Vixen
  • 2010 - Zebedee
  • 2011 - Requinto
  • 2012 - Sir Prancealot
  • 2013 - Green Door
  • 2014 - Beacon