We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

2012 Finale Juvenile Hurdle Result

John Ferguson's Ruacana made the most of a last flight fall from Tim Vaughan's Swynymor in a cracking finish to the Finale Juvenile Hurdle at Chepstow's rescheduled Christmas meeting.

Richard Johnson had looked to have the race at his mercy on board Swynymor, but he dived at the final hurdle and duly sent his jockey out the front door and it was left to Denis O'Regan to outbattle Caid Du Berlais and Megalypos up the home straight and bag Grade One glory and stake his claim as a genuine 2013 Triumph Hurdle contender.

2012 Finale Juvenile Hurdle Result:

1. Ruacana (D O'Regan) 10/3

2. Caid Du Berlais (R Walsh) 9/4 Fav

3. Megalypos (AP McCoy) 17/2

8 Ran

Finale Juvenile Hurdle History

The Finale Juvenile Hurdle is a Grade One race run at Chepstow over two miles, 110 yards for horses aged three years old.

One of the star attractions of the Welsh National meeting, this contest attracts some of the leading juvenile contenders who will be looking to use this contest as a springboard to greater things. 

It is the first juvenile Grade One contest of the season and a lot of runners are likely to be campaigned with juvenile contests in mind and runners in this race are often seen competing in the Triumph Hurdle at the Cheltenham Festival and the Anniversary 4-Y-O Novices' Hurdle at the Aintree Grand National meeting.

The only horse to have managed to win the Finale Juvenile Hurdle and go on to win the Triumph Hurdle is the David Nicholson-trained Mysilv, who won the Chepstow contest in 1993 before bagging Cheltenham Festival glory four months later in March.

However, some classy horses have bagged glory in this contest before going on to greater things over obstacles with French raider Jair Du Cochet being a standout name after he won the 2000 renewal.

Others worth noting include the Alan King duo of 2007 winner Franchoek and 2008 Walkon, who were both classy winners of this contest to show that this race can unearth future stars of the national hunt scene.

Recent Winners of Finale Juvenile Hurdle

  • 2000 - Jair Du Cochet
  • 2001 - Tempo d'Or
  • 2002 - Nas Na Riogh
  • 2003 - Sunray
  • 2004 - Phar Bleu
  • 2005 - Blue Shark
  • 2006 - Good Bye Simon
  • 2007 - Franchoek
  • 2008 - Walkon
  • 2009 - Me Voici
  • 2010 - Marsh Warbler
  • 2011 - Hollow Tree
  • 2012 - Ruacana


Bet £10 Get £30 in Free Bets
Exclusive Promo Code
New customers using Promo Code P30 only, min £10/€10 stake, min odds 1/2, free bets paid as 2 x £15/€15 (30 days expiry), free bet/payment method/player/country restrictions apply. T&C's apply, 18+ begambleaware.org
Up to £100 in bet credits
Exclusive Promo Code
Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5 and 1x settled bet requirement to release Bet Credits. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&C's apply, 18+ begambleaware.org.

We are committed to supporting Responsible Gambling Initiatives - For additional information visit : GamCare | Gamble Aware | Gamblers Anonymous

Tom Lee's Betting Tips

View the latest racing tips from RTE Racing Presenter Tom Lee.

Read Toms Tips Now

Upcoming Meetings


    View Complete Racing Schedule

    We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
    Got It