We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Baylis & Harding Affordable Luxury Handicap Chase History

The JLT Speciality Handicap Chase is a Grade Three race run on day one of the Cheltenham Festival over three miles, 110 yards for horses aged five years or older and was originally known as the Festival Trophy Handicap Chase.

Sandwiched in between the Arkle Challenge Trophy and the Champion Hurdle, this race sees some of the seasoned handicap chasers go to post as they look to bag festival glory en route to bigger and better things.

Historically, this contest has unearthed some future stars who have gone on to Grand National glory at Aintree either later on in the season or later in their careers.

Royal Tan was the first to accomplish that feat by winning this contest in 1952 before going on to lift the 1954 Grand National crown for legendary trainer Vincent O'Brien.  Since then four others have achieved festival glory in this contest before winning the Grand National. 

Team Spirit, West Tip, Seagram and Rough Quest have all etched their name in both rolls of honour with the latter winning the Cheltenham race in 1995 before grabbing Aintree glory in 1996.

More recently, the most eyecatching winner of the race came in 2009 when Wichita Lineman came from way back to land the prize following a spectacular power-packed ride from multiple champion jockey AP McCoy.

2014 Baylis & Harding Affordable Luxury Handicap Chase Runners and Form

During the 2014 national hunt season the form guides will no doubt give indication of what races horses will be taking part in at the Cheltenham Festival and we will keep in touch with any relevant form issues and also provide the runners in this contest nearer the race.

Recent Winners of JLT Specialty Handicap Chase

  • 2000 - Marlborough
  • 2001 - No Race
  • 2002 - Frenchman's Creek
  • 2003 - Youlneverwalkalone
  • 2004 - Fork Lightning
  • 2005 - Kelami
  • 2006 - Dun Doire
  • 2007 - Joes Edge
  • 2008 - An Accordion
  • 2009 - Wichita Lineman
  • 2010 - Chief Dan George
  • 2011 - Bensalem
  • 2012 - Alfie Sherrin
  • 2013 - Golden Chieftain
  • 2014 - Holywell