We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Eider Chase History

The Eider Chase is a handicap race run at Newcastle over four miles, one for horses aged five years or older and is widely regarded as a trial for the Aintree Grand National.

One of the longest races in the national hunt calendar, the Eider Chase is all about stamina and with heavy conditions often the order of the day it is only the greatest stayers that can bag victory in this contest and are often regarded as potential Grand National horses.

Comply Or Die was a classy winner of the 2008 Eider Chase before the David Pipe-trained gelding ventured on to Merseyside two months later to win the Grand National at Aintree to etch his name alongside some of the greatest staying chasers of all time.

Jenny Pitman's Willsford won the 1995 renewal, but he went on to bag Scottish Grand National glory at Ayr the same season at the tender age of 12.  This was a feat emulated by Merigo, who won the 2009 Eider Chase before going on to win the 2010 running of the Scottish National.

Timmy Murphy has an excellent record in the race and the classy rider bagged victory on both Comply Or Die and Merigo when they both won the Eider Chase to become the most prolific rider in the race's recent history.

Recent Winners of Eider Chase

  • 2000 - Scotton Green
  • 2001 - Narrow Water
  • 2002 - This Is Serious
  • 2003 - No Race
  • 2004 - Thyneandthyneagain
  • 2005 - No Race
  • 2006 - Philson Run
  • 2007 - Nil Desperandum
  • 2008 - Comply Or Die
  • 2009 - Merigo
  • 2010 - No Race
  • 2011 - Companero
  • 2012 - Portrait King
  • 2013 - No Race
  • 2014 - Wyck Hill