We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Ebor Handicap History

The Ebor Handicap is a race run at York's Ebor Festival over one mile and six furlongs for horses aged three years or older and is the most valuable flat handicap in Europe.

Established in 1843, the race is now one of the staying highlights of the flat season and with such a huge pot on offer it can see all the trainers targeting it with their premier stayers and many winners of the race have looked to use it as a springboard to Group company.

Only once in the entire history of the race has a horse managed to win the event twice and that came in 1923 after Flint Jack had already won the 1922 contest returned to the Knavesmire 12 months later to retain his title and became the most successful horse in the history of the race.

Lester Piggott has a tremendous record in the contest as well and he managed to win the contest five times during an illustrious career, but it has to be classed as one of the toughest races to win for horses, trainers and jockeys alike.

Peter Easterby's Sea Pigeon was a notable winner of the 1979 Ebor Handicap and went on to become a revelation over hurdles and was a dual Champion Hurdle winner in 1980 and 1981, as well as bagging glory in the Chester Cup.

Other notable names on the roll of honour include the legendary Further Flight, who won the 1990 running for Barry Hills and Sergeant Cecil who is another eyecatching name on the list of winners.

Recent Winners of Ebor Handicap

  • 2000 - Give The Slip
  • 2001 - Mediterranean
  • 2002 - Hugs Dancer
  • 2003 - Saint Alebe
  • 2004 - Mephisto
  • 2005 - Sergeant Cecil
  • 2006 - Mudawin
  • 2007 - Purple Moon
  • 2008 - All The Good
  • 2009 - Sesenta
  • 2010 - Dirar
  • 2011 - Moyenne Corniche
  • 2012 - Willing Foe
  • 2013 - Tiger Cliff
  • 2014 - Mutual Regard