We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Doncaster Cup History

The Doncaster Cup is a Group Two race run over two miles, two furlongs for horses aged three years and older and it makes up part of Doncaster's St Leger festival.

The oldest continuing race in the world the Doncaster Cup was established in 1766, where the distance was a staggering four miles.  However, it was gradually shortened with time and has been run over today's trip of two miles, two furlongs since in 1927.

Nevertheless, it is still a contest for the staying types and stamina is the key when looking for a winner of the Doncaster Cup.  The final leg of the Stayers' Triple Crown the Doncaster Cup follows the Ascot Gold Cup and Goodwood Cup.

A name synonymous with the Doncaster Cup is the Mark Johnston-trained Double Trigger, who won the race three times in 1995, 1996 and 1998.  In 1997 he went off a short-priced favourite, but could only finish fourth to Canon Can.

Even though the Doncaster Cup is one of the longest races run on the flat racing calendar there has been a dead-heat for first place on three occasions.  The most recent came in 1997 when the John Dunlop-trained Millenary and Howard Johnson-trained Kasthari finished together in a gladitorial battle down the home straight.

One of the most popular horses in recent memory who managed to win the Doncaster Cup was Persian Punch, who managed to defy his years and win the contest at the age of 10 in 2003.

Recent Winners of Doncaster Cup

  • 2000 - Enzeli
  • 2001 - Alleluia
  • 2002 - Boreas
  • 2003 - Persian Punch
  • 2004 - Millenary/Kasthari (dead-heat)
  • 2005 - Millenary
  • 2006 - Sergeant Cecil
  • 2007 - Septimus
  • 2008 - Honolulu
  • 2009 - Askar Tau
  • 2010 - Samuel
  • 2011 - Saddler's Rock
  • 2012 - Times Up
  • 2013 - Times Up
  • 2014 - Estimate