We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Dewhurst Stakes History

The Dewhurst Stakes is a Group One race run over seven furlongs at Newmarket for two-year-old colts and fillies.

Established in 1875, the Dewhurst Stakes now makes up part of Newmarket's Future Champions Day, which also includes the Rockfel Stakes and Middle Park Stakes.

As Britain's most prestigious juvenile event the Dewhurst Stakes is often used as a stepping stone for the 2000 Guineas and the Epsom Derby the following year.  Over the last few years a few winners of the Dewhurst Stakes have gone on to Classic glory the following season.

Rock of Gibraltar managed to win the Dewhurst in 2001 and 2000 Guineas a year later, whilst New Approach and Sir Percy both won the Dewhurst en route to Epsom Derby glory.

However, the 2010 renewal saw one of the greatest horses in history bag glory, as the mighty Frankel stormed to a two-and-quarter length success en route to his Guineas demolition in 2011.

After riding 10 winners of the Dewhurst, Lester Piggott is the most decorated jockey after bagging his first winner in 1956 with his last coming in 1982 aboard Diesis.

Recent Winners of Dewhurst Stakes

  • 2000 - Tobougg
  • 2001 - Rock of Gibraltar
  • 2002 - Tout Seul
  • 2003 - Milk it Mick
  • 2004 - Shamardal
  • 2005 - Sir Percy
  • 2006 - Teofilo
  • 2007 - New Approach
  • 2008 - Intense Focus
  • 2009 - Beethoven
  • 2010 - Frankel
  • 2011 - Parish Hall
  • 2012 - Dawn Approach
  • 2013 - War Command
  • 2014 - Belardo