We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Coventry Stakes History

The Coventry Stakes is a Group Two race run at Royal Ascot over six furlongs for two-year-old horses and often throws up a potential Classic contender for the following season.

Established in 1890, this race takes place on the opening day of Royal Ascot and often sees the leading two-year-olds from the UK & Ireland line up in what is usually an ultra-competitive contest and always throws up a star of the future.

For decades the winner of this race has been regarded as one of the leading two-year-olds and it's not a shock to see them competing in Classic company the following season and it's most likely that they line up for the 2000 Guineas at Newmarket the following May.

Some notable horses have bagged victory in he Coventry Stakes before going on to bigger and better things and Tudor Minstrel and Mill Reef are just a brace of runners who have gone on to Group One glory with the latter becoming a household name when winning the 1971 Epsom Derby.

More recently, Barry Hills' Royal Applause was a classy winner of the event in 1995, whilst Aidan O'Brien saddled Henrythenavigator in 2007 before he went on to win both the 2000 Guineas and the Irish 2000 Guineas in a cracking career.

Richard Hannon sent the well-thought after Canford Cliffs in 2009 and he was an epic winner and emulated Henrythenavigator by bagging victory in the Irish 2000 Guineas and handed Richard Hughes his first Classic victory.

Recent Winners of Coventry Stakes

  • 2000 - Cd Europe
  • 2001 - Landseer
  • 2002 - Statue of Liberty
  • 2003 - Three Valleys
  • 2004 - Iceman
  • 2005 - Red Clubs
  • 2006 - Hellvelyn
  • 2007 - Henrythenavigator
  • 2008 - Art Conossieur
  • 2009 - Canford Cliffs
  • 2010 - Strong Suit
  • 2011 - Power
  • 2012 - Dawn Approach
  • 2013 - War Command
  • 2014 - The Wow Signal